Skip to content

Pasture Move Followup Photos

July 24, 2014

EOS_7316
Moving the cows to a different pasture is the easy part.  They walk, or run.  Gathering up all the temporary fencing, troughs, fence energizer etc., is what takes some effort on my part.  Early this week I needed to move the cows from our lower pastures through the timber to the pasture in the top left of this haying photo.  My first order of business is to lay out the new fence so it’s ready when the cattle arrive.  Then go fetch the other fencing and the cattle.

Skunky boy

Skunky boy

Farm dogs are pretty necessary.  I need someone to talk to besides the cows.

100_8398
It’s a nice drive through the woods until we fall out into the pastures to the west.

100_8357

100_8363
The lower field was finished and I squeaked out three days grazing on the perimeter of that field.  Part glen and part open space.  My usual procedure is to take down all the fence around the cows and load up.  They know the drill and wait for me to tell them what is next.  Their only choice is to go into the timber so it’s not like they are “out” or going to get into too much trouble.

100_8399
Sometimes I drive ahead with them in hot pursuit and other times the procedure is a little more laid back.  As it turned out the cows were not in a hurry this move, so I took the opportunity to drive to the upper pasture, and walk back with my camera.

It's always nice to have a lead cow.

It’s always nice to have a lead cow.

You can always count on the lead cow to make your life the easiest or the most difficult.  Lula is one of those girls.  She’s so tame that she does not shoo or move unless she wants to.  But this day she was perfect.  She’s Jane’s aunt and a big galoot.  Half Guernsey, half Hereford and purebred Attitude.

filing in behind Lula to the new paddock

filing in behind Lula to the new paddock

A cow like that is priceless for training these youngers to the procedure.  We’re all a little breathless from our trip through the woods, so I make them stop at the gate and then I open the electric fence (that’s the gray thing in left corner of the photo), call them and let them in.

100_8413

"Are we done yet?"

“Are we done yet?”

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2014 7:54 am

    “…won’t shoo or move unless she wants to.”
    Gah. I have one of those. I was laying across her the other day hoping she would move but she was busy eating pineapple weed and didn’t seem to care about me.

  2. cathylee permalink
    July 24, 2014 8:15 am

    Reminds me of a past patient. I was taking a history to admit a man to the hospital. He said he noticed some lack of coordination in his hands when doing the laundry. He thought it was from working in the heat. So he took a nap (not the best choice). Then he called his sister as nothing had improved. He said he didn’t know until then that there was something wrong with his voice because he doesn’t talk to himself. I told him I wouldn’t have that problem, but if I had to I’d claim I was talking to the dog. He said his dog got old and died.

  3. Allisa Imming permalink
    July 24, 2014 8:45 am

    Interesting post. I love that your aussie watches you herd from the front seat! Too funny. Natural supervisors.

  4. Bev permalink
    July 24, 2014 9:36 am

    On a hot day the woods must feel and smell so good. Your cows are in beautiful condition. Last few days thunder and lightning hovered and the race was on. Get that hay in the barn!A skunk dog, ha, was there a meeting? More skunks around here than needed. How is Grady doing? I bet he has learned a lot these past months. Enjoy your day.

  5. Mich permalink
    July 24, 2014 10:14 am

    Can’t beat having an older cow that knows the drill….most handy esp when you have a few young un’s playing the fool.

  6. July 24, 2014 4:20 pm

    Love that last shot! All bright-eyed and bushy-tailed.

Leave a Reply

