Skip to content

50 Shades of Red, Duh!

August 1, 2014
The wait is over

The wait is over

All this time I have been peering at the Astiana tomatoes waiting for them to get ripe!  Duh, they are pink as in Brandywine pink, not red like the photos I have seen.  For comparison, that tiny tomato is Principe Borghese, it’s really red.  The rose is this one.  F.J. Grootendorst.  I’m so not a rose person, but this one tolerates my hog mowing flower maintenance schedule.  It’s really pink.  Astiana, you taste very good.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Livia permalink
    August 1, 2014 4:18 pm

    Oh, that’s funny! Mine are not ripen yet, but am looking forward to make lots of sauce.

    Liv

    • August 1, 2014 7:35 pm

      Livia, me too, I planted 3 plants on time and my other ones sat an extra ten days in the their pots, they are at least 10 days behind 😦

  2. August 2, 2014 4:08 am

    Pretty, pretty. One of the nicest discoveries of every summer’s garden is seeing what the new tomato varieties look like. My favorite variety this year is the new Blue Berries variety, which starts out a rich shiny purple and then as it ripens, turns blueish and red, too. Tasty, too!

    • August 2, 2014 4:56 am

      Sounds good! I grew a blue one last year that tasted terrible (IMO) but the plant was beautiful, that blue tint was in the leaves.

  3. bunkie permalink
    August 2, 2014 7:06 am

    Was that the Indigo one that tasted awful? If so, we planted that last year and it was a pretty plant but the taste was very bland. Will have to try the Blue Blueberries!

  4. August 3, 2014 11:19 am

    best title ever. Those are some pretty pretty tomatoes!

  5. Tom permalink
    August 5, 2014 10:03 pm

    Hello, I’m a gardener in Sacramento and while doing a search on seed saving and different varieties of vegetables, I came across your blog. I’ve been reading it ever since.

    I can locate sources of everything you grow on your farm that I am interested in growing myself except for the Astiana tomato. So this begs the question: would it be possible to purchase some seeds? Or…where did you obtain yours so I can get it there?

    Thank you!

    -TH

Leave a Reply

