Skip to content

Worth the Wait

August 7, 2014
Sight for sore eyes

Sight for sore eyes

Finally milk for the house.

Cuteness alert

Cuteness alert

Devil boy!

21 Comments leave one →
  1. August 7, 2014 9:56 pm

    Oh, look how pretty he is. Such a relief to hear it was a successful birth. Congrats!

  2. August 7, 2014 10:49 pm

    What different ways do you use the colostrum? It makes interesting, and very orange, butter ;-).

    • August 8, 2014 4:15 am

      Marilyn, I try to stock up the freezer with the excess just because calving emergencies may arise with the beef cows. I’ve never done anything creative with it for us 🙂

  3. Lori. Skoog permalink
    August 8, 2014 4:20 am

    Looks like an angel to me!

  4. angie@nwiu.com permalink
    August 8, 2014 4:27 am

    Darling little guy. I certainly understand the happiness when there is again milk in the house. 🙂

  5. Allisa permalink
    August 8, 2014 8:46 am

    So he’s charming the pants off all of you already??? Sure is a cutie pie!

  6. Bee permalink
    August 8, 2014 9:14 am

    Boy, howdy, isn’t that the truth! The first cold glass of milk when the cow freshens is better than Christmas.Every so often I think it might be worth it to have two milk cows on slightly different calving schedules, just so I could have milk year-round. But it’s kind of like any other seasonal food — the first asparagus, the first tomato, the first peas, the first new potatoes — nothing tastes quite as good as those firsts…

    • August 8, 2014 9:38 am

      Yummy! And cream in my coffee this morning – SWOON! I’m just not up to two cows anymore, so much work…getting lazy in my old age 😉

      • Bee permalink
        August 9, 2014 5:19 am

        It’s not age that stops me, it’s the difficulty in breeding. We don’t have access to AI, which means keeping the Rent-a-Bull longer or bringing him back just for one cow. If I did have two milk cows, I’d use Gene Logsdon’s technique: get a low producer, let her run with the calf, and only milk when I want milk for the house. I only milk once a day, anyway, so that helps. If Maybelle were to produce a nice little Angus-heifer cross, I might reconsider, but so far, she’s tended to run to boys. I suppose I could learn to AI…

        • August 9, 2014 6:13 am

          Bee, thank heavens for a reasonable AI service here, it’s expensive to get set up 😦

  7. Nic permalink
    August 8, 2014 12:36 pm

    Are you drinking colostrum? I thought you had to wait a week for milk?

    • August 8, 2014 12:37 pm

      I always start saving milk for us at the 5th milking, assuming a TAD schedule. It’s milk at that point.

  8. NIDS LOVE BIG EYES permalink
    August 9, 2014 8:04 am

    I popped into your blog a few months ago and I’ve been absolutely captivated by your love for Jane and your worry about her impending motherhood. So glad it went well and mother and baby are doing well. Best regards from South Africa.

  9. August 9, 2014 9:35 am

    did you AI her with guernsey semen, or sexed semen?

  10. Chris permalink
    August 9, 2014 6:17 pm

    Can I ask what you do with all the milk?

    • August 9, 2014 7:45 pm

      Drink it, make butter, and today baked some wonderful soft rolls, nothing beats fresh milk. Plus those calfies (next post) will drink the bulk of it pretty soon.

      • Chris permalink
        August 10, 2014 6:01 pm

        Looking for ideas of what to do with all this milk. Already made tons of cheese and feeding 2 calves.

        • August 10, 2014 8:39 pm

          Pigs, clabber for chickens? Cheese and whey for the garden?

          ETA: how much milk is your cow giving? A calf needs two gallons or more a day to do well,hoping their getting their share. That takes care of 4 gallons a day.

  11. Chris permalink
    August 13, 2014 7:52 pm

    Wow, how many times a day do you feed them? I only feed the calves 1 1/2 gallons each a day. I am getting 7 gallons from the cows and 1 from the goats.

    • August 13, 2014 7:58 pm

      We started out at 4x and are down to 3x at one week, which we’ll probably continue until…working our way up to 2 gallons a day each +. My usual procedure is to let the milk cow’s calf nurse after I milk TAD, then separate, but I’m not doing that this year. So nipple buckets it is.

Leave a Reply

