Skip to content

Pretty Much Every Day is Labor Day

August 31, 2014

Working in the jungle today.

Somewhere in there is a bucket and some boxes...

Somewhere in there is a bucket and some boxes…

 

Peppers and tomatoes and a bucket for the squishies

Peppers and tomatoes and a bucket for the squishies

 

Amish Paste - Kapuler

Amish Paste – Kapuler

 

Faithful pup :(

Faithful pup 😦

14 Comments leave one →
  1. August 31, 2014 4:05 pm

    That’s gotta be the calmest, happiest looking pup inside a cone I’ve ever seen! 😀

    • August 31, 2014 4:53 pm

      He’s accepting it pretty well, although I don’t think it will last the 7 – 10 recommended days 😦

  2. August 31, 2014 4:58 pm

    What a good buddy you have! He looks like a real trooper 🙂

  3. August 31, 2014 6:32 pm

    My daughters dog tore her cone up so much they repaired it with duck tape over and over. By the last day she had it on it was almost all tape.

  4. Bee permalink
    September 1, 2014 5:41 am

    Boy, isn’t that the truth (every day is labor day)! What us farmers and ranchers need is a day off… Still, it could be worse; we could be office workers.

    • September 1, 2014 6:26 am

      Bee, I’ve been both at the same time, that sucks for real. 😦 Jekyll and Hyde kind of life. A day off is dehorning a calf and fixing fence and maybe a little recreational weeding 🙂

  5. September 1, 2014 9:00 am

    My jungle is junglier than yours… I think I’m just going to have to admit I can’t do every single thing all by myself. Garden is going to have to go… but then the catalogs come and it all begins again. Did discover a delicious cucumber – Morengas.

    • September 1, 2014 9:13 am

      Mmmm, sounds delicious! Like I need to be thinking about more varieties 😉

      • September 1, 2014 9:29 am

        I’m kind of picky about the crunch of a cucumber – these were perfect. Tender, crispy, no sour gelled seeds or bitterness. They’re worth it if you like pickles.

        • September 1, 2014 10:12 am

          I’ve had good luck with National, good even when large, and so prolific, but it never hurts to try. I think I’m on my last batch today…for a bit anyway. My second planting is just starting to come on. My fridge is getting full though 😦

  6. September 1, 2014 11:33 am

    Beautiful pup! Love the tomatoes too! It’s always a challenge growing them on the shore of Lake Michigan! Even farmers markets nearby rarely sell heirlooms. 😦

  7. September 2, 2014 6:58 am

    those sunflowers are a great reward.

Leave a Reply

