Skip to content

Hands Full

September 9, 2014
Pullet egg

Pullet egg

Hands full every minute… .

Tomato sauce in two sizes

Tomato sauce in two sizes

 

Cocozelle and Raven summer squash

Cocozelle and Raven summer squash

 

Heading to pasture

Heading to pasture

They’re either learning good habits or bad habits – it’s up to me.

EOS_8284

Five weeks old

EOS_8275
Sweetness.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Victoria Howell permalink
    September 9, 2014 8:59 am

    Those calves are just precious! Was it hard to wean them from their moms?

  2. September 9, 2014 9:17 am

    Love those babies. Sweetness indeed.
    So innocent.

  3. Wendy permalink
    September 9, 2014 10:19 am

    I follow your blog and am constantly learning from you, so I’m hoping you might have some advise for me on a gardening problem. I ordered 10lbs of French shallots to plant because last years planting didn’t do well at all and I need new seed stock. The shallots I ordered were organic French reds, and arrived slightly squishy and with black mold under the skins of almost all of them. My grandmothers suggestion was to peel back all the moldy layers and give them either a vinegar or peroxide rinse but she was also concerned if that doesn’t work they might contaminate our soil. I would like to try vinegar or peroxide but I’m not sure which one to use, how much to use, if I should rinse them well with water after, if I should let them dry in the sun before planting, or if I should just peel off the skins and plant them as is. Any advise you have would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

    • September 9, 2014 12:13 pm

      Wendy, I would ask for a refund and some new planting stock, or refund and buy from someone else. I think I would be leery of planting them. Either way you paid for good shallots, you should demand them.

      • Bee permalink
        September 10, 2014 12:57 pm

        Wendy, from a been-there-done-that standpoint (in my case it was onion sets rather than shallots) I tried planting a few in pots, just to see, and they didn’t grow well at all. I second Nita’s send ’em back opinion. I would not have expected the seed stock to be in such poor condition, as it shouldn’t have been on the road long enough to develop that sort of problem. You might be dealing with poorly-educated workers who don’t recognize mold or a disreputable supplier. If it’s a reputable supplier, they should be wiling to give you a refund or replace with good stock.

  4. Lucy permalink
    September 9, 2014 11:05 am

    The difference between the conformation of the calves, even at this young age, is amazing!

    • September 9, 2014 12:14 pm

      It is, isn’t it. Just two days difference between them. One bred for milk production and one for meat.

      • CassieOz permalink
        September 9, 2014 3:50 pm

        I have to say that dairy breed or dairy cross beef is seriously good stuff. We have a Jersey Hereford beast in the freezer at the moment and she’d have to be the best beef we’ve had in a long time.

        • September 9, 2014 4:01 pm

          I couldn’t agree more 😀 My Hereford/Guernseys make good cows too. Reese’s little stocky friend is all beef though, Hereford/Gelbvieh.

  5. reneeliamrhys permalink
    September 9, 2014 7:38 pm

    A precious bounty!
    Again beautifully captured.
    Alexa a Simple Life
    From Sydney, Australia

Leave a Reply

