Skip to content

Smoky and Dusty

September 15, 2014
Jane's breakfast time after milking

Jane’s breakfast time after milking

I hate thinking about the forest fires that are giving us spectacular sunrises and sunsets.

The "boys" grazing after morning milk.

The “boys” grazing after morning milk.

 

Smokey skies

Smokey skies

The smoke from the Pit 36 fire cast an odd pall on the sky yesterday while we were getting some of the garden ready for cover crops.   Crossing our fingers for some rain for the fires and the seeds we want to plant.

Play time

Play time

100_9056

Break time

Harvest and preservation efforts continue, the never ending ghee and butter project, and finally the last pickling cukes committed to jars for the fridge.

100_9100
100_9116
And Squee!  Empty boxes on the porch!  Time to refill them.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Jane permalink
    September 15, 2014 2:21 pm

    I love your blog and have been reading it for some time now.
    Living in a fire prone area myself my thoughts are with you.
    Stay safe and well.

  2. September 15, 2014 3:43 pm

    Yeah, it has been nasty here for the last couple of days. I’m with Jane, I enjoy your blog and your pictures. Thanks

  3. September 15, 2014 9:07 pm

    I pray you get the rain you need too. Again stay safe and well

  4. Elizabeth permalink
    September 16, 2014 9:38 am

    Happy for you… sad for me. No tomatoes (again) this year. I’ve tried black plastic, tunnel covers, short season breeds all without success.The cool summer nights just don’t support tomato ripening. I’m going to try an Alaska type next year and if it’s still a no-go then I’m going to devote the tomato space to something I know will work…..like more cabbage, more B. sprouts, more carrots…..
    Woe is me that I have to BUY tomatoes.

    • September 16, 2014 10:00 am

      Ugh, I wish you were closer, I have too many. Have you tried Bellstar? It’s short and sweet and was the first tomato I got to ripen outside without a greenhouse, I still grow it though inside and it’s my first tomato always.

      • September 16, 2014 11:07 am

        We struggle with low temperatures at times and our successful tomatoes are Latah, they are not huge plants but they are early ripeners. Not sure if they are available stateside but I got mine from Realseeds.co.uk others that work are subartic plenty and outdoor girl – surprise, surprise but they are not as tasty as the Latah ones

Leave a Reply

