Skip to content

Daddy’s Here

September 21, 2014
Finch (LoFat)

Finch, also known as LoFat, or Spotsen

The bull arrived last week without much fanfare.  After last year’s two-bull breeding season, we are meeting in the middle on the calendar between the two sets of calves, in an effort to get back to the correct calving time for us.

Browinie Hornsen

Brownie Hornsen

Joey the second bull from last year is here, we have two nice looking calves, Finch and Brownie, on the ground from him, and he’s a gentle guy.

Joey, upper left corner

Joey, upper left corner

100_9163
He’s not in your pocket, but he’s quiet, but I now have to keep my wits about me while working with the cows.  He is a bull.  And, so it goes for six weeks, watching for signs of breeding and marking the date and cow’s name on the calendar.

September stockpile

September stockpile

We’re still working through the stockpiled forage on schedule.  We’ve got some green for the cows to eat, and some nice carbon to trample for winter grass food.

Reese 6 1/2 weeks

Reese Milksen 6 1/2 weeks

And I’m loving this little delicate guy to death.  There is something about calves that are tame and in your life.  Hard to put that into words.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 21, 2014 3:00 pm

    I know exactly what you mean. A nice bovine brings so much pleasure to your day!

  2. Bee permalink
    September 21, 2014 3:48 pm

    My Rent-A-Bull, Rito, is going home Wednesday, and I’m glad. He doesn’t seem actually mean, but he’s used to just walking through the cows and shoving them out of his way. If you happen to be anywhere in the cow’s vicinity, he’ll shove them right into you. He also has a tendency to just stand there when you try to move him, tossing his head the way a bull does when he’s playing the dominance game. I actually had to whack him across the head with a shovel handle the other day to get him away from the oldest granddaughter, who helps me with evening chores. I prefer a bull who jumps when I say “frog.” Rito is older than the bulls we usually get, so i suspect that’s part of the problem. Next year we’ll get a youngster again. In the meantime, the smallest fry are banned from the big pasture, and I keep a really close eye on Rito.

  3. Elizabeth permalink
    September 21, 2014 8:02 pm

    I’m ready for my 1.5 year old steer to go to the freezer. He’s getting too pushy for my tastes. The next little beef steer coming in the spring is going to have much better manners. I just have to research the technique a little more to make sure. 🙂

Leave a Reply

