Skip to content

Juicy

September 23, 2014

EOS_8515
Besides flinging and raking cover crop seed today and gathering seeds from the garden, I need to make up some grape juice with the grapes we picked yesterday before the rain.

The variety?  I have no idea…White Concord?  It’s Concord-like, greenish yellow and delicious.  We call it simply “The Grape” and bow to it’s antiquity and pay the 130 year old “wild” vine homage by enjoying the fruits of it’s labor.

I plan on doing some with the stainless steel steam juicer and also canning some jars of juice with the grapes in. Cathy at Fullcircle Farm has a great grape juice canning tutorial on her site if you want to try that method.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Bev permalink
    September 24, 2014 8:26 am

    Thank you for the link. So much less work. Besides juice and jelly I do freeze grapes. Like berries on a cookie sheet and then bag. They taste so good just barely thawed. Don’t always have the freezer space by the end of summer. Never knew there were white Concord grapes.
    We are still waiting for rain to arrive here.

  2. Bee permalink
    September 24, 2014 3:28 pm

    Yes, that trick of filling the jars with fruit and boiling water has got to be the easiest way in the world to make fruit juice. And at this time of year, easy is what I need! I still have freezer space, but that’s because the butcher is too far behind and doesn’t have chill room for the three pigs and cow we need to butcher. Once those come back, my freezers will be jammed to the gills!

    • September 24, 2014 4:53 pm

      Ugh I know, and I did forget corn on that list and mushrooms too IF we get any…I had to dig into my Y2K stash of narrow mouth quarts to do this juice. Now that’s bad! I haven’t seen those in 15 years!

Leave a Reply

