Skip to content

Lunch Time

October 7, 2014

The calves are at ten weeks now, and at the point in milk consumption where I can say heck with bringing milk to the house…I can fill their buckets and call it a night.  Fall and winter have a funny way of making me want to spend as little time as possible doing chores in the evening.   Lunch time is a different story though, I need them to use up some of the skim milk from the morning’s skimming.  So we heat the milk to 100°F or thereabouts and head to the barn.  Usually they are on high alert for the sound of the screen door slamming around noon or so.

October 7, 2014

October 7, 2014

EOS_8718

EOS_8719

EOS_8720

EOS_8722
EOS_8724

EOS_8726
EOS_8728
I’ve only got one bucket with a bracket, so I hold one and we hang one.  I like the buckets because they give you more capacity than the half gallon bottles.  You need to aim for at least two gallons a day minimum per day for months.

EOS_8728
The trick is to feed where you can hold the bucket against something solid, otherwise you end up wearing a lot of milk.

EOS_8729

EOS_8730
EOS_8739
After lunch it’s either go back to the loafing shed for a nap and cud, or

EOS_8735
go outside for a nip of clover.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. October 7, 2014 1:20 pm

    Beautiful calves – love their faces 🙂

  2. CassieOz permalink
    October 7, 2014 3:45 pm

    Matron, how do you stop those bl**dy calves from bunting the nipple bucket and covering everyone with milk or, even worse, knocking it clean off it’s bracket?

    Yeh? beautiful babies so healthy and full of joy! Love it.

    • October 7, 2014 5:27 pm

      Cassie, well, they are little yet, I’m sure I’ll get a milk bath pretty soon. Reese is a little suckle impaired, so I hold his against something as steady as possible, Finch he’s awful, so he gets the bucket with the bracket and we take it away as soon as he’s done. They are sure fun to have around, so funny, “wild” little bulls.

  3. October 7, 2014 4:09 pm

    I love the calves. They look so sweet. Quick question. I am growing sweet meat squash for the first time this year, and I know you grow them. How do I tell if they are ripe yet? They are no longer green, but more of a grey white color. They are about as big around as a dinner plate.

    • October 7, 2014 5:24 pm

      Robin, check the underside of the squash, if the there is a white spot, they are ready to harvest for curing. To harvest, cut the stem as close to the vine as possible and handle squash carefully to retain the stem. Cure in a warm place for about two weeks, and then move to cool and dry storage. Unheated bedroom, pantry etc. I don’t wash or sanitize my squash and they keep fine, but some folks swear by that. It’s up to you.

  4. Chris permalink
    October 7, 2014 6:28 pm

    Seeing your cuties makes me even more anxious for our new arrival. The vet wants to do an u/s on her, she is huge.

  5. October 8, 2014 12:09 am

    Your calves are gorgeous!! Thanks for sharing… I love watching them grow 🙂

  6. October 8, 2014 6:49 am

    Look at the difference between the breeds. Abbott and Costello out there.

    • October 8, 2014 7:15 am

      Someone asked me why Reese wasn’t as bulky as the beef calf…sad thing was that they own cows 😦

  7. October 8, 2014 3:51 pm

    I know the post is about calves,but my eye could not help but wander to the woods in the first three pics. I love hiking but have not been able to do so in some months, so I hike through photos 🙂

    Now to the subject of calves – what cuties they are.

  8. Chris permalink
    October 9, 2014 11:56 am

    They are adorbs! 🙂

Leave a Reply

