Skip to content

Big Fencing Day

October 27, 2014

Time for lunch.

100_9560
Moving the cows to a remote field involves lots of fencing.Β  I got 4 days of grazing and water set up, installed the cows, and then went back and winterized the field they just grazed.Β  Yep farming is materials handling times ten, each step involves carrying something.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. CassieOz permalink
    October 27, 2014 12:38 pm

    Ah Matron, but that’s how you keep your girlish figure, yes?

  2. October 27, 2014 12:47 pm

    I want one of those gadgets! There are miles in these days.. c

    • October 27, 2014 1:23 pm

      Makes a heck of a watch too. The last time I lost it, I found it in a cow pie, and it had 44 steps on it. I don’t know if the cows were playing with it, since I had lost it the day before, or if they just kicked it down the hill, too bad I didn’t have the camera with me that day! Good blog header material πŸ˜‰

  3. October 27, 2014 2:37 pm

    Well they say you should walk 10,000 steps a day, not a problem for you! I just found a pair of scissors in the manure pile. I have no clue how they got there. Oh it just dawned on me that much of the pile is from the horse farm across the road. Must have been their scissors.

    • October 27, 2014 3:17 pm

      It’s funny what you do find in the manure pile, I’ve found my lost earrings that have made it from the barn all the way through composting and then turn up in the garden. My favorite is the glass beads for the turkey water that find their way to the garden, it’s like finding a jewel while I’m weeding πŸ™‚

  4. October 27, 2014 7:05 pm

    Sure can relate. I’m still moving my little herd daily while the forage lasts – lots of walking but nothing like a remote jaunt. Would be very interested to hear what you do to “winterize” your grazed pastures.

    • October 28, 2014 8:05 am

      TD, I’m adding a little hay but still moving through on a daily basis, once the rains hit here in the fall the stockpile loses quite a bit of nutrition but it’s still good carbon to put down with cow hooves. As for winterizing, it’s mostly just picking up after myself, making sure no forgotten fence posts, reels etc., are left in a field I won’t walk much until spring. Yesterday I had to move the cows through the woods to an entirely different pasture, so it was easier to leave the fencing around them in the field while I built new paddocks and placed water troughs, minerals etc in the next field. So I did lots of driving and hauling, and then walking back to get them, open the gate and run through the woods with them to the next field. They took off leaving me and Joey, the bull to bring up the rear. After I got them situated, I drove back and gathered up all the fencing troughs etc, and walked the entire field on keylines making sure I didn’t leave anything behind. It’s also a good time to do litter patrol, junk from hunters, mushroom seekers, balloons from anyone’s party in Portland, you name it, it pretty much ends up in the fields, so I check for things like that. I haul my water so I don’t have water lines to drain, so mostly it’s just cleaning up after myself, nothing worse than finding a handful of long forgotten rebar posts with a hog mower :p

  5. Elva permalink
    October 27, 2014 7:18 pm

    Hey, your hands look just like mine! I am here in Upstate New York, but I also have a cow named Jane, an Ayrshire, and also moved a bunch of fence today for my cattle, along with the help of my border collies. Usually I move them daily, but my grazing season is about to end, and I gave them enough to last until Friday.

    • October 28, 2014 5:31 am

      How funny! Ayrshires are rarer than Guernseys around here! I’ve got about a month to go on grazing and then I’ll be done for the year too.

  6. October 27, 2014 9:09 pm

    I am sure you knew you would be asked, but what do you mean by winterising the field?

    • October 28, 2014 8:05 am

      Joanna, see my reply to Thistledog πŸ™‚

      • October 28, 2014 8:47 am

        Thanks much appreciated. We know the feeling of getting caught out with a hard freeze and snow from last year’s experience. A little thaw and hubby managed to reel in the electric wire, but I can’t remember how long it was before he could remove the poles frozen into the ground πŸ˜€

        • October 28, 2014 10:31 am

          I know exactly what you mean, I was shocked the first time I had posts frozen in, I had to abandon them until the thaw.

        • October 29, 2014 3:19 am

          Glad it wasn’t just us. Last year we did at least get a brief thaw in the winter and managed to remove the poles, otherwise they would have sat there for six months. This was fine due to the lack of snow cover, but if there had been a lot of snow in the bargain, then we would have probably broke a few along the way. We use plastic ones not your rebar ones πŸ™‚

  7. Lucy permalink
    October 28, 2014 4:55 am

    My doc kept saying I need more exercise and she gave me one of those. When I gave it back she thought it was broken and gave me another. Nope, same results. Lack of exercise is NOT the problem!

Leave a Reply

