Skip to content

A Good Day for This

October 31, 2014

Not looking forward to the end of Daylight Savings Time this weekend…since I don’t believe we are getting an extra hour of daylight like I just heard on the news…

This is what I’m doing today, this old blog post is still a good one since I found an errant round steak that needed using up.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. bunkie permalink
    October 31, 2014 8:42 am

    We aren’t fond of Daylight Savings Time either. We don’t set our clocks back, so we have an extra hour in the winter time to make whatever appointments we have in town. Comes in handy when the weather and roads are dicey!

  2. October 31, 2014 9:24 am

    Okay, we LOVE beef jerky. I should make some. I should try that recipe on the other post… sounds very, very yummy. We buy our beef by half-a-cow and split with a friend so we end up with about a quarter-of-a-cow. And we love it. But we get SOOOO much ground beef. Anyhoo, in thinking about what cuts make the best jerky, I know its lean cuts, but what cuts are that? Or perhaps it varies cow to cow? I’ve sliced sirloins and other steaks, I’ve not tried round steak, but I could. I love our butcher, but she has a set way of cutting up the side of beef, which leaves me lots and lots of ground beef — not as nice for jerky.. :::sigh::: all kinds of thoughts about beef and butchers….

    • October 31, 2014 9:45 am

      Mama R, I usually end up with round steak or sirloin steak oddballs that somehow didn’t get used up and I usually use those…they definitely disappear then 🙂

  3. October 31, 2014 10:12 am

    Well, it will be nice have a little light while doing morning chores but it’s going to stink to come home from work in the dark every night.

    On a lighter note, beef jerky time.

    • October 31, 2014 12:00 pm

      HFS, it’s so fleeting though, I would rather just stick with standard time and deal with the reality. I get up well before daylight so it doesn’t make much difference. I just thought it sounded pretty stupid to hear the news anchor announce that we were getting another hour added to the day starting Sunday morning. Does she have any idea what that would do to the saying, 24/7/365?

      • bunkie permalink
        October 31, 2014 5:13 pm

        Spot on about the asetting their clocks back!!! Part of the reason we don’t!

  4. dwightupton permalink
    October 31, 2014 10:44 am

    This weekend is a return to Standard Time. You gain an hour of sleep. That is all. The days are getting shorter so this is an attempt to time shift us into the brighter hours of this winter season.

    • October 31, 2014 11:54 am

      I know, but you don’t gain an hour of sleep or daylight, you just change the clock to make it appear so. I still don’t think Daylight Savings Time is a savings of anything. Or maybe it’s because I have animals…they expect me to appear at the same time every day whether it is dark or just a wee bit lighter for a few weeks.

      • dwightupton permalink
        November 8, 2015 5:11 am

        What time does the cock crow?
        Just before sunup, right.
        City folk don’t have crows so we adjust the clock in order to enjoy more sunshine during the summer.

  5. CassieOz permalink
    October 31, 2014 1:56 pm

    Great timing as I’ve just dug an unidentified steak package out of the freezer. I think it’s what we call topside – too dense and dry for any really good eating and too much of it on a cow. We’re four weeks into daylight savings time here although it only applies to our interactions with the ‘rest of the world’ and farm routine continues unchanged. Chickens demand feed at the garden gate as the sun reaches a particular angle (they know they get ‘treats’ before being locked in for the night), and the two Jersey girls hang around with them waiting for hay tubs to be refilled and maybe a slice of the one remaining overwintered pumpkin. Farmers live on ‘sun time’ not so much ‘clock time’. Most of my critters don’t own a watch.

    • October 31, 2014 1:58 pm

      Exactly, we need to change our clocks to go out into the world, here it’s pretty much business as usual.

      I hope your stinkers are doing well after their recent foray?

  6. October 31, 2014 4:28 pm

    Tell that to the cows! They would love an extra hour of sunshine to munch in.. nope Daylight saving is daft, it makes no sense in a farm world or a modern world.. c

  7. bunkie permalink
    October 31, 2014 5:14 pm

    Oops, on opost above, I meant animals setting their clocks back! :O)

  8. October 31, 2014 7:18 pm

    Luckily, I live in a state with no daylight saving. Thank god. We voted it out about 25 years ago but there are rumblings about introducing it so “we are the same as the other states”. pfffffft the difference is one of the reasons I live here.

  9. November 2, 2014 7:28 pm

    Ha! I kinda like the idea of jerky-scented socks actually! I made goat jerky once from one of my wethers- pretty dang good, but it did accentuate that “goatie” thing.

Leave a Reply

