Skip to content

Yakkity Yak

November 14, 2014

EOS_9223
100_9648
It is thawing a bit where the sun can reach…chores are a little treacherous without some traction though, and with ice and snow covering the grass, the cows need hay.

EOS_9214
Not as cold as some of you folks are getting, but certainly cold enough to bring errant tom cats home for a spell.

EOS_9222

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Stumplifter (Andrea) permalink
    November 14, 2014 1:02 pm

    Been rockin’ my big coat since Monday, in the 20’s all week here in Wisconsin. My mulched beets and carrots are looking unhappy, I certainly underestimated the below freezing forecast. I was thinking about covering them with a heavy tarp for a day or so to try and warm up the soil enough to harvest. Any ideas on this strategy, or alternative strategies you have will be so very appreciated. Here’s hoping for equity in seasons delivering unto us an early Spring.

    • November 14, 2014 1:28 pm

      I always hope for snow for insulation but we didn’t get any to speak of…I may be in the same boat on some of my roots, although so far so good, I didn’t have any trouble building electric fence today, so the ground isn’t really frozen yet. The tarp sounds like a good plan…

  2. susan permalink
    November 14, 2014 1:05 pm

    Beautiful cat. Don’t you love your Yak Traks?

    • November 14, 2014 1:26 pm

      We’re gave up on him, thinking he was cougar crap somewhere, and there he was the other morning! The biggest purr monster in the barn:)

      No slipping today! Love the Yak Traks!!

  3. November 14, 2014 1:27 pm

    Those icy stairs look a lot like mine did at 545am this morning. Of course, icy stairs are much better than icy stares.

  4. November 14, 2014 1:33 pm

    such pretty cats.. snow.. sigh.. c

  5. November 14, 2014 1:43 pm

    Yes it’s been pretty cold here. I’m snugged in and getting caught up on my email with the hopes of getting some writing in. You and the cat are my inspiration today! Thanks…Helen

  6. Lisa G. permalink
    November 14, 2014 6:57 pm

    If you’ve got icicles, it’s cold where you are! We aren’t quite there yet. But there was a little white stuff this morning.

  7. November 14, 2014 10:05 pm

    You got the snow before we did this year. Although I think you might have done last year too, since last year we had a green winter. Cold but hardly any snow till late on.

  8. November 15, 2014 9:04 am

    I’m tickled we’ve warmed up above zero and we are getting a bit of snow. It means I don’t have to haul water or chop ice every couple of hours. Now it can be just once or twice a day. Much nicer. 🙂

  9. Bee permalink
    November 15, 2014 4:42 pm

    I wonder how many other readers automatically finished your title with “…Don’t talk back!?” We’re still waiting for the first freeze, but I suspect it’s going to arrive in the next day or so. also, Nita, before I forget again, I was making cottage cheese and ricotta today, and I remembered you saying something about making chicken cheese — what is that and how do you make it?

    • November 15, 2014 6:58 pm

      Eek, it’s been 18F here at night…with a coating of ice on top. I fell today with a basket of eggs…only thing hurt was my pride ;P Eggs made it safely to the house.

      For the chickens I just make quick ricotta with vinegar, no worrying about the temp, just hot milk and a some vinegar and it’s good to go, and lately I’ve been doing the same with the buttermilk, too much, I hardly bake and it’s doesn’t yield as much (about like whey ricotta) but it still gives the hens a goodly snack before nighttime and gets the buttermilk out of my hair. It’s a great way to use up any dribs and drabs of milk in the fridge, I like pretty fresh for the calves, so the chickens get the spoils, and I get eggs. My pullets were at 100% today, despite the cold nights and frozen water, I have to give Jane some credit for that.

      • Bee permalink
        November 15, 2014 7:21 pm

        Oh, that sounds easy, thanks! I culture some of the buttermilk for baking, but a quart a week is about as much as we use, so I always have excess buttermilk. I never thought of using it for ricotta.

  10. November 16, 2014 2:52 pm

    Brrr. I found your blog recently. I’m so inspired by your photos and glimpses into your farm life. Thank you! It’s quite chilly here in PA, but no snow yet, though Tues night a low of 12 degrees expected.

Leave a Reply

