Skip to content

Happy Thanksgiving

November 27, 2014
Milk heads

Milk heads

I guess it pays to hang out under the calf buckets…

EOS_9386
Our menu?  Roast chicken, dressing seasoned with onion and celeriac leaves, garlicky mashed potatoes, balsamic roasted brussels sprouts, braised leeks, and blueberry pie.  I’m stuffed just thinking about it!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. RecyclerSA permalink
    November 27, 2014 12:46 am

    Cleopatra wannabees 😀 Happy thanksgiving to you all. Laura

  2. November 27, 2014 4:20 am

    Yikes! At quick glance, it was looking a little gruesome, lol. I’d love to hang out under your calf buckets anytime. Dinner sounds delicious, happy day to all the Matron family, four legged and two 🙂

  3. Carrie permalink
    November 27, 2014 4:29 am

    What a smashing photo – well captured!

    If you could ‘virtual’ a plated dinner in this direction… it would be most welcome. No? Oh well, you enjoy my portion too 🙂

    And commiserations re: Willy; however necessary, it’s never a easy to do.

  4. Allisa Imming permalink
    November 27, 2014 6:46 am

    Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family! Thank you for sharing with us all year. Lisa

  5. Fid permalink
    November 27, 2014 7:47 am

    Happy Thanksgiving! I’m so grateful for the time you take to share your life with each of us. I learn so much and enjoy how I feel each time I open an email from you! May the “Dish” fairies bless your kitchen today so you can put your feet up by the fire. 🙂

  6. November 27, 2014 10:12 am

    Happy Thanksgiving and I’m thankful for all your delightful posts.

  7. November 27, 2014 8:07 pm

    Thanks for sharing with us; happy Thanksgiving!
    I wanted to update you on my pie test. I used your butter crust instructions against a coconut oil shortening crust (my lard was too porky to use) and filled them with Carol Deppe’s pumpkin pie recipe. The pie was the best pumpkin pie we’ve ever had and the butter crust won hands down. 🙂

  8. November 27, 2014 8:20 pm

    Happy thanksgiving, Nita. I hope you had a lovely day. I saw an Australian Shepherd when I was at my sisters last week and my first thought was of you. They’re such nice dogs.

Leave a Reply

