Skip to content

Heavy Reading…

December 9, 2014

EOS_9328
Gosh, it’s that time of year…when bloggers go AWOL, but farm life just keeps happening.  Maybe, just maybe, I’ll actually have time to finish a book instead of returning it to the library with a bookmark still in the middle.  A girl can dream can’t she?

I like holding a book in my hands, so that becomes problematic in a rural area where the library is 15 miles distant.  When you get the notification that a book you’ve had on hold for months is finally there, you find a reason to go to town.  I’ve had my nose buried in The Big Fat Surprise:  Why Butter, Meat and Cheese Belong in a Healthy Diet, by Nina Teicholz.  Heavy reading indeed.  It’s preaching to the choir for me, but it may be an eye-opener for some.  Beware of people with an agenda, they can shape history, it may not be for the good.

EOS_9723
It’s no surprise that beef is on the menu here tonight.  Pan seared chuck roast (in ghee) on a bed of various vegetables from the winter garden.  Leek planks, garlic, rutabaga, celeriac root and stalks, and a good measure of carrots.

Thank you slow cooker, it’s too warm to build a fire just for cooking, and I have chores to do outside.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. December 9, 2014 12:38 pm

    I just finished reading that book a couple of weeks ago – and, yes, pretty heavy going, but it was very interesting. I loved the fact that the initial fat/cholesterol/Mediterranean diet came down to one survey of a handful of people during at time of food shortage when they were crying out for fat/meat. Ironic.

    • December 9, 2014 5:00 pm

      Exactly.

      • Bee permalink
        December 9, 2014 6:20 pm

        As someone who spent years in quality improvement (where you’re constantly looking at clinical studies) and medical writing (ditto), I tend to discount about 60 percent or more of what the “experts” say. I learned a long time ago that far too much research is slanted, written to meet the funder’s goals or flat-out falsified. I just looked at one today in which the funder of the study makes the medication the researchers were studying. Two of the researchers work for and own stock in the same company. All of the researchers received payments or grants from companies that made medications, devices or equipment used to treat the condition. The system is incestuously inbred and in many cases, dangerous to people’s health.

  2. December 9, 2014 12:59 pm

    I would like to read that too, even though i am in the choir as well!.. c

  3. Bee permalink
    December 9, 2014 1:36 pm

    I know exactly what you mean! And when it’s a new, really big book (like Diana Gabaldon’s latest) you can only have it for one pass, since everybody else wants it, too. I confess that I did the absolute minimum and let the housework just sit for three days so I could finish it before I had to take it back. Now that it’s past that first flurry of holds and showing up on the shelves, I may get it again to read at my leisure. We’re doing double duty right now because that big storm coming in Wednesday may (if NOAA has called it correctly) dump as much as 10 inches of rain on us within 48 hours. So a lot of the “when we get to it” projects have jumped to the top of the list… Only saw this because I sat down for lunch and started surfing!

    • December 9, 2014 4:59 pm

      Bee, ugh, we’re getting some balmy warmth today and the rain seems to be missing us for the most part. Loving the rain though, last winter was just too dry and set us up for a dry growing season. Okay for the garden, but the grass and hay get short shrift.

      Stay high and dry!

  4. December 9, 2014 1:52 pm

    It’s also the time of year when Nita has snow flakes falling on her blog. I love that. Is that butter in your first photo? If so, it’s a lovely yellow colour from the grass your girls eat.

    xx

    • December 9, 2014 4:57 pm

      I love the snow too! I’m always sad when WordPress takes it off come January 😦 Yes, butter just after churning and before working. Wonderful stuff that butter!

  5. December 10, 2014 3:39 am

    Sounds like a good read! I believe in everything in moderation.
    Also thank goodness for slow-cookers!

Leave a Reply

