Skip to content

Gobo, Not

December 18, 2014

I bought Jane a new brush for her Christmas present…it seems Grady traded a min/max thermometer that had been lost, for Jane’s old brush.  I wondered where that thermometer had gotten to, and when it appeared I started wondering what had happened to Jane’s brush.  Sigh, life with a pup.

Burdock, Arctium lappa.  It's medicinal right?

Burdock, Arctium lappa. It’s medicinal right?

So, this morning after milking, I brushed Jane with her new stiff bristled brush.  I didn’t see her all day and this is how she came to the barn tonight… .

Been far afield today, Jane?

Been far afield today, Jane?

The hemlock is a nice holiday touch.

The hemlock is a nice holiday touch.

Make it go away Mom.

Make it go away Mom.

I guess that new brush will get a workout tomorrow.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. December 18, 2014 6:27 pm

    Oh my! What a mess! Our horses come in like that sometimes…mane, tail and forlock. Not my favorite project!
    -Lori

  2. December 18, 2014 6:38 pm

    I just had to laugh for awhile!! Brought back so many memmories, and they’re not easy to get out!! especially in a horses mane and tail!!

  3. December 18, 2014 9:58 pm

    What is that?

  4. December 18, 2014 11:16 pm

    I don’t envy you trying to get that lot out. One of our cats is picking stuff up from goodness knows where. It’s bad enough in summer as she has quite long fur, but with her winter coat on, it’s awful. That stuff has certainly developed well to spread its seed around

    • December 19, 2014 5:26 am

      I’m just glad it’s not in her tail, these came off pretty easy with her short hair. I thought I had cut them all back, but she found one I missed I guess 😦

    • December 19, 2014 12:52 pm

      Joanna, it’s pretty amazing how seeds travel, although this one is one I didn’t know so much about 😦

  5. December 19, 2014 7:01 am

    And she’ll do it, again! Yeah… we’ll be keeping our Mini Schnauzer shaved completely down if we move to an area where those boogers reside!

  6. Bee permalink
    December 19, 2014 8:59 am

    Around here, it’s horehound. Also medicinal — great cough syrup, even if it tastes terrible (and that’s with two parts honey to one part horehound infusion). Smaller seeds, which makes it even harder to get out. I have to use a fine-tooth comb and my fingers. The stud horse is particularly fond of nosing around the horehound clumps, and his forelock is very fine hairs, so they tangle into large clumps. None of the other horses have that problem, but Ruby the Angus heifer also likes to dive into horehound.

  7. December 19, 2014 12:15 pm

    I admit I did have a giggle:) The look on Jane’s face!

  8. Chris permalink
    December 19, 2014 12:50 pm

    Oh I thought it was mistletoe! 🙂

  9. Carrie permalink
    December 21, 2014 2:57 pm

    ‘Happy Solstice’ – the return of the light, and the start of another year. Here’s to a good one!

    Thanks for sharing your observations throughout the year – much appreciated.

  10. December 23, 2014 5:53 pm

    Poor wee Jane! Such a good girl. c

  11. Amy Johnson permalink
    December 26, 2014 6:08 pm

    Used to douse my horse’s tail with baby oil instead of trying to comb
    out the burrs – makes ’em slide right out. No tugging, no frustration, no
    danger of a large, impatient animal…Jane looks chagrined enough to put up with some brushing, though!

Leave a Reply

