Skip to content

Resinating

January 9, 2015
tags:
Black Cottonwood Populus trichocarpa

Black Cottonwood Populus trichocarpa

Another year gone by, another year started.  That means it’s time to start gathering cottonwood buds for salve making.  My favorite farmstead medicine chest staple, still making it, still loving it.  If I had to pick one salve to have on hand this is it.  It keeps, it heals anything from cuts to burns, and it smells so good.  Even my other standby salve, calendula, pales in comparison.

EOS101_0037
EOS101_0023
No other interesting January news, same old, same old.  Eating cabbage, kale and roots from the garden and enjoying the sky show morning and night.

EOS_9997
January sunrise.

EOS_9999_6
Full Wolf moonset.

EOS101_0007
Goodnight.

21 Comments leave one →
  1. January 9, 2015 5:11 pm

    Matron, I’m pretty sure you’d not be happy with one of the photos on your recipe post: please get that naughty thing out of there, as I’d like to share your recipe! And thank you! http://simple-green-frugal-co-op.blogspot.com/2009/04/healing-cottonwood-salve.html

    • January 9, 2015 5:47 pm

      I’m not seeing “it” on my end?

      • January 10, 2015 2:43 am

        There is a picture of lady with a caption that reads feel the euphoria. Lol. Thanks for the recipe.

        • January 10, 2015 6:06 am

          Eek, I’ll rewrite the post! I like that salve, but I’m not euphoric 😉

  2. January 9, 2015 8:39 pm

    I’m going try this for sure 😊 I make a similar salve with cayenne (capsaicin) for my hubby’s aches and pains. Works good on my lower back too when I do something stupid.

  3. Barb in CA permalink
    January 9, 2015 9:40 pm

    Wow! Absolutely stunning photos of the sunrise and sunset! Such a spectacular show must make chores just a bit easier. Thanks for sharing the salve recipe. Very clear and easy-to-follow instructions for us newbies.

  4. Wendy permalink
    January 10, 2015 2:27 am

    I see the very “summerly-dressed-lady” photo as well. It it supposed to be the photo where you pour the hot oil in jars. That photo is gone and it shows a “shivering” lady.

    Your sunsets/sunrise photos are really very beuatifull. Amazing colors.

  5. Younker Homestead permalink
    January 10, 2015 5:20 am

    The pictures of the sky are absolutely beautiful! Love it!

  6. January 10, 2015 10:04 am

    The things that go on around here 😀 You have some amazing skies and I am now going to take a look at the salve recipe – hope it’s safe to go there now 😀

    • January 10, 2015 10:09 am

      Joanna, I can’t fix that old post, so if you can’t find it at Simple-Green-Frugal I’ll have to re-write it here. My browser isn’t showing the odd photo.

  7. trish permalink
    January 11, 2015 2:57 pm

    Hi Moh,
    Can you fill me in on what is a ‘wolf moon’? I haven’t heard that before! Lovely pics. I have been making that cottonwood salve since i got it off your previous post at least a couple-three years ago? Great stuff. We get a lot of mileage out of it. Thanks.

  8. January 13, 2015 7:37 pm

    I. Can’t. Even.

    Cottonwood? You mean like…cottonwood? Like the tree? Had no idea. Those are just giant weeds here.

  9. Sheri Landreth permalink
    January 14, 2015 7:28 am

    Hi Matron!!! I have been following your blog for a couple of years now and really enjoy it. I have a question totally unrelated to your post but didn’t know where to ask it….Do you use a heart worm preventative for your dogs? I had a run-in with someone from the humane society yesterday about adopting a dog and she was really rude about the fact that we at present do not have our aussie on meds. Do you know of an herbal alternative? Thanks so much for all your information…you are a gold mine!!!!

    • January 14, 2015 9:29 am

      Sheri, we don’t treat and we haven’t had any problems, so far. My vet explained (and this may be hogwash) that in the Northwest it’s not usually a problem, but in the south it is. I’m sure it’ll become prevalent here as well. I have no advice, sorry.

  10. A.A. permalink
    January 14, 2015 2:00 pm

    Thank you for this, a great reminder 🙂

  11. Diana permalink
    January 18, 2015 8:07 am

    Will any cottonwood buds work or should they be black cottonwood buds? We have Lanceleaf, narrow leaf and plains cottonwoods here. Also here’s a link with the “euphoric” woman. I assumed it was meant to be humorous 🙂 http://simple-green-frugal-co-op.blogspot.com/2009/04/healing-cottonwood-salve.html

    • January 18, 2015 9:08 am

      Diana, I’m not sure, but a crush test of a bud will tell you. If it smells good, try it. That was the link that I had in the original post but I can’t access that blog anymore to fix it 😦 I think it was probably hacked.

Leave a Reply

