Skip to content

$$Ouch$$

January 26, 2015
Loose mineral haul

Loose mineral haul

Yesterday straw, today loose minerals.

100_9926
Three bags each of Redmond salt, Acadian kelp meal, and Fertrell Nutribalancer.  Hopefully this will last for a while.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2015 5:51 pm

    are these three mineral offerings for the cattle? nice picture too!

  2. Fid permalink
    January 27, 2015 6:29 am

    Do you like Acadian kelp as well as Thorvin? Thanks!

    • January 27, 2015 6:57 am

      Fid, you know when I’m looking at a $20 difference in price and the cows are looking at me – I like it about the same. Tidal is good as well. And convenience has to play into it too. I can get Acadian and Tidal easily, the Thorvin not so much.

  3. arte white permalink
    January 27, 2015 9:53 am

    Do you put this out together or in separate containers? Also must it be placed under cover?

    • January 27, 2015 11:26 am

      We live in a rainy area, and so I use one container and put fresh minerals out each day, a little of each in separate piles in the mineral box. And if it’s really going to monsoon I might skip a day or two.

  4. Eric Fritch permalink
    January 27, 2015 10:27 am

    Can you explain what your mineral program includes for the beef cattle? I have been looking into this for my herd and have not found a solution yet. I found when I fed a loose mineral free choice they were going through far more than the recommended amount even over a 3 month period. I’m currently giving them full access to trace mineral salt block with Selenium plus an occasional portion of loose minerals.

    • January 27, 2015 2:35 pm

      Eric, I try to stay away from making recommendations, since “mileage may vary” due to so many circumstances that a one-size-fits all approach probably isn’t in the best interest of anyone. My cows intake of minerals varies with pasture and hay quality throughout the year, so I try to take a big uptake or low intake with a grain of salt and make an effort to determine the why part of what I’m seeing. Things like dark breeds needing more copper, dry cows, lactating cows etc all need to be taken into consideration. Soils differ too, volcanic, flood plain, prior uses and also irrigation or lack thereof play into the mineral content too. Plants that are irrigated, and heavily fertilized may be deficient in minerals because the plants do not have to work to find moisture, or many nutrients because the roots don’t go very deep. It may be that there isn’t much diversity in the forage, a lot of minerals are present in what most people call weeds. A grass or two and maybe clover isn’t enough in some cases. If cows are eating a lot of minerals they are looking for something that is missing in the feed or pasture. Mine do well on icelandic kelp meal, loose mineral salt, like Redmond or Sea-90, and I use a mix from Fertrell that gives you some calcium, phosphorus, etc in addition to a good probiotic. I offer each separate so the salt doesn’t interfere with uptake of minerals. And I don’t use blocks anymore since I realized that cows cannot get enough from a hard block before they give up licking. Blocks were awful convenient for me, but they didn’t do much for the cows.

      Fertrell will give you the name of a distributor in your area if like what you see. Supplying good minerals helps the pastures too, by adding those minerals to the compost pile via the cow.
      http://www.fertrell.com/beef.htm

      Or there are also companies that provide a box with many different compartments of minerals. Expensive, but some people like big approach like that.
      http://www.abcplus.biz/

      Food for thought, anyway. Good luck!

      Hope this helps.

      • Eric Fritch permalink
        January 27, 2015 3:21 pm

        Thank you! Yes, it does. I’m just trying to find other ideas that long time cattle folks use. Our county Cattlemen’s group offers a loose mineral designed for our area but I think the salt (+/-35%) is higher than I’d like. I also started getting numerous foot and leg issues last year after I started using it free choice for several months. That may have been related, maybe not. My Vet had suspected a lack of copper so I did liver biopsies and did not find any deficiencies there, for copper or Selenium. Thanks Again.

        • January 27, 2015 5:04 pm

          Eric, I forgot to say that sometimes a cow will overeat a mineral to compensate for what’s missing, and that throws them into an imbalance. I sure like the Fertrell minerals, it contains a little salt but not too much and the probiotic is very good. My distributor is in Vancouver, WA and ships to other areas in Washington.

          Jonathan @ beerite sales: 360-256-8650 or 503-209-1550

Leave a Reply

