Skip to content

Sigh

February 20, 2015

It’s happening!

EOS101_0664
First signs of life on Wednesday from the Sunday seeding.  And we’re off and running!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. deb permalink
    February 20, 2015 5:34 am

    I wonder sometimes if there is a”gardening gene”-that this deep soul satisfaction at seeing life emerge from soil is somehow entwined in those strands of DNA, and we are destined to seek it….. it sure seems that way. I cant help but smile just looking at the picture!

    • February 20, 2015 5:59 am

      Deb, there must be, I fear we scared those little seedlings from staring at the flats those first few days 😉

  2. February 20, 2015 5:43 am

    Sigh is right! It’s -36 C with the windchill again here in Eastern Ontario.

    • February 20, 2015 6:00 am

      It’s been amazingly warm here this winter. Warm enough to go without much of a fire some days.

  3. February 20, 2015 6:27 am

    This weekend I get to start the first seedlings! I’ve been wanting to start seeds for a couple weeks, but with 2-3 feet of snow on the ground and a high of 20 degrees F counting as a heat wave, I can’t justify anything earlier this year.

    I still remember the year where I had to transplant all the broccoli, kale, and collards into 4″ pots because the ground was still frozen. Then I had to rotate out seedlings under the grow lights . . .

  4. February 20, 2015 7:21 am

    Just makes me smile!

  5. Allisa permalink
    February 20, 2015 8:12 am

    WOW!! It’s like those little seedling want to show off just for you! Very impressive. This summer is my First Foray into gardening since we moved to southern Utah high country. I don’t exactly ‘fit in’ here, but I plan (hope) to impress with my gardening skills!!
    I’m going to start my seed trays (egg cartons) in my 60 degree basement in about a week. Our growing season begins May 10, is what I’m told.

  6. bunkie permalink
    February 20, 2015 9:13 am

    AWESOME!!!

  7. February 21, 2015 3:14 am

    It’s such a nice present to find little leaf heads popped up so quickly after seeding. I start seeding next weekend, on the first of March.

  8. February 22, 2015 5:58 am

    This photo makes my spirit do a cartwheel. We put on a musical melodrama at our place every spring, so any fullscale planting must wait until we’re done with that–mid-March–but I plan to push a few seeds into some damp soil TODAY just for the lift of the spirits that I know will ensue. Precious, precious sight!

  9. March 7, 2015 12:43 pm

    I thought I was starting my seeds early, now I feel like I have company!

Leave a Reply

