Skip to content

Weather Related

February 20, 2015
tags:

You can’t change the weather, so you adjust your plans.  This past week in pictures.

EOS101_0480
EOS101_0519

EOS101_0558

 

100_0055
EOS101_0635
EOS101_0646
EOS101_0678

EOS101_0664
EOS101_0602

 

13 Comments leave one →
  1. February 20, 2015 6:42 am

    Beautiful photos! Wish I could have a piece of that pie!

  2. Jessica permalink
    February 20, 2015 10:55 am

    Do you still run a farmers market stand? I’ve only heard you mention it once or twice. I’d love to know more about what you do and how it works!

  3. February 20, 2015 11:53 am

    Hey, that’s my week, too! The violets, cherry pie and seedlings, anyway. Not the cows or machinery. Your crust lattice is beautiful; am a little envious. I never make lattices, because my whole-wheat crust is too brittle, which leads to a lot of patching and swearing. So I cut hearts out of the top crust instead. Then, after forgetting to put the cutouts on the pie to look pretty, I bake them by themselves and eat them.
    The cherries were from the freezer, and I learned that you can drain too much of the juice from pie cherries, after all. Bummer. Although, the juice is delicious in hot chocolate …

  4. Chris permalink
    February 20, 2015 12:16 pm

    Gorgeous photos…so full of color! Have really been enjoying your vintage farm photos too..please post more..especially of the young lady sitting at her desk, although not quite a farm photo, it was priceless! 🙂

  5. HEather permalink
    February 20, 2015 4:18 pm

    New question for you. Have you ever used potting blockers (eliot coleman style)? They seem to be all the rage now and I wonder are they really that much better than 6 packs in plastic . . .

    • February 20, 2015 4:43 pm

      I haven’t since I’ve been set up with these pots and flats for so long, and they’re like canning jars, pretty soon people are giving them to you…

      But I do know of a farmer nearby using them for the last 4 or 5 years and he swears by them. He could probably extoll the virtues if you left him a comment on his blog.
      https://saurfarming.wordpress.com/

  6. February 20, 2015 6:54 pm

    Those are gorgeous photos–and lovely weather, too! We are actually getting snow down in NW GA! It didn’t get up to freezing today, and it snowed all afternoon with a whiteout, so I’m really enjoying your sunny photos. My DH walked by just as I scrolled to the pie photo, and he said, “Oh my!” with an envious sigh! I must admit I felt the same way! 🙂

  7. February 21, 2015 3:16 am

    Oh, a violet first thing in the morning!! Thank you!! Nothing close here, we’ve got more snow coming and it’s -16F this morning in Western Mass.

  8. February 22, 2015 9:31 am

    Hello, This is my first post to you, but I’ve been reading you faithfully for about 3 yrs now. A little over 2 yrs ago I acquired a small piece of land and I’ve built a greenhouse based on yours and do pasture rotation because of what I’ve learned here. I’d like to say thank you for all the info you’ve shared.
    I now need additional advice as I was given 14 chickens. They’re in the greenhouse at present (20×40′) but I’ll need it soon for veggies. Many questions but I don’t want to hijack this reply section.
    Thanks again!
    Evangeline

  9. Chris permalink
    February 22, 2015 10:04 am

    Oh, she’s still there! 🙂

Leave a Reply

