Skip to content

Ho Hum

February 23, 2015

100_0106

We’re still moving right along with winter/spring work. Our spring-like weather has us dragging the winter feeding field about a month early.

dragging to distribute manure and mole hills in the winter feeding pasture.

dragging to distribute manure and mole hills in the winter feeding pasture.

 

Stored potatoes think it’s April from the looks of their sprouts.  Usually my keeping potatoes don’t break dormancy this early.

Purple Viking potato

Purple Viking potato

 

The nicest part of this bout of spring-like weather is that we aren’t really using much firewood.   I haven’t even got into our cold weather stash of miscellaneous hardwoods, so that means we’ll have that cherry and chestnut for 2016.  Same with our kitchen wood, it’s pretty hard justifying much of a fire in the cookstove when the house isn’t even cold.  Cords of seasoned firewood is like money in the bank.

100_0096
Hauling firewood at a leisurely pace in February when wood is your only heat source?  That’s warm folks! It’s enough to make a dog pant!

100_0102
Trace is channeling Iggy Pop today…makes me feel old.

 

15 Comments leave one →
  1. Beth in Ky permalink
    February 23, 2015 3:21 pm

    DANG! How big are those #$%& moles? Never seen such a thing in my life!! Here they make tunnels and a little exit hole about 2 inches high. What is the difference, looser soil or a high water table? Wow!

  2. Chris permalink
    February 23, 2015 3:26 pm

    Do you heat with wood because your house doesn’t have another source of heat or just because that’s the way you like to heat? We use both but still end up wearing fleecy or wool stuff all winter inside. It was 25 below 0 yesterday in Flint, Michigan…we left there 35 yrs. ago and now I know why! 🙂
    I think Trace is way better looking than Iggy!

    • February 23, 2015 3:33 pm

      Chris, that’s our only source of heat, but not our only source for cooking 😉 I’m spoiled with our PNW weather, born and raised here, I wouldn’t like it so cold!

      I agree, and that’s not a bad picture of Iggy, I don’t mind listening to him, but he got kind of rough looking there after awhile.

  3. deb permalink
    February 23, 2015 3:55 pm

    Ah, beautiful green field. And Trace is a cutie. Thanks for such beautiful images.
    You are so right about firewood being like money in the bank. Funny, hubby and I were just talking about that very thing, as we have been burning two trees we took down with a neighbor’s help and barely touched our other stash. That means more time this summer and fall to work on the homestead itself instead of doing firewood.
    Meanwhile we have had the coldest February on record. I am looking for a small used wood cookstove.

    • February 23, 2015 4:37 pm

      It is nice to see some green instead of brown 🙂 Poor Trace, he’s the middle child who has to get along with everyone – the other two have made my life HECK, I would use a stronger word or words, but me and Trace needed some quiet time hauling wood. Three dogs is adding up to a nightmare, or I should say it’s a terrible Venn Doggie Diagram!

      We’re usually warm here if it is cold in the east. I’m thinking we will sink back into winter here pretty soon.

  4. Bee permalink
    February 23, 2015 3:59 pm

    Boy, we went back to winter with a bang — 38 this morning and the north wind howling like a banshee. NOAA said 45 MPH gusts, but I’m betting closer to 60. I’m also betting that that last rain we got is pretty much gone out of the ground by now…

    • February 23, 2015 4:32 pm

      I know, it was 32 this morning – what? Hoses out, water troughs iced over. We certainly babies 😉 I bet anyone east of here is shaking their heads. My soil is dry enough to work.

  5. Elva permalink
    February 23, 2015 6:00 pm

    As I also exclusively heat with wood, for about the last sixty days, I have spent a good portion of every day bringing firewood in and feeding Stove and a good portion of the night stoking Stove! And speaking for myself and the two VERY BORED Border Collies that might as well live in a city instead of on a farm as they have not been able to go anywhere except for the driveway, as the fields have about four foot of snow on them; we have all had just about enough!!! However, there is a glimmer of hope at the end of the week with maybe a night that is above zero!

  6. February 23, 2015 10:28 pm

    Totally off topic question, but what is your favorite tomato for canning? Not for sauce, just for canning diced or wedges. We have a similar climate and I’m tired of messing around with unsuccessful growers.

    • February 23, 2015 10:58 pm

      Oh man a favorite? I would have to say Costoluto Genovese…maybe Black Trifele too, CG is still the winner in our taste tests during winter, though. It’s so interesting that during and right after canning season it all begins to taste the same, and now opening a jar – heaven, and the flavors are distinct. So I do label even my sauce just because, they do taste different even cooked down.

      • February 24, 2015 12:00 am

        Okay, thank you. I can only grow three varieties this year, so the Costoluto Genevese it is. Maybe next year I can try the other one.

  7. February 24, 2015 12:27 pm

    20 here last night. This old house is drafty! I know what you mean about insulation now, and those old windows, yikes. Luckily the daytime temps have been in the 40s, can’t imagine being under 0 all day like the east coasters, wow. Having to get up around 2 to re load the stove so I have some warmth and coals in the morning. Maybe next winter I’ll have a stash of hardwood or limb wood…

Leave a Reply

