Skip to content

Smoky Paprika Cheddar Crackers

February 24, 2015
Styrian Naked Seed pumpkin seeds

Styrian Naked Seed pumpkin seeds

Somewhere along the line I found a recipe for an adaptation of Tartine’s Cheddar Cracker. It called for smoked cheddar, which if you know us, you’re not going to find smoked cheddar around here on a whim, it would disappear in nothing flat.  But I always have smoky paprika.  I just adapted the recipe to fit my pantry.  Sorry no photos of the crackers.  They disappeared pretty fast and food photography is a whole nother ballgame compared to snapping photos of cultivated and weeded garlic.

Music garlic, weeded, cultivated, loved, 2/24/15

Music garlic, weeded, cultivated, loved, 2/24/15

EOS101_0696
This is so not a frugal recipe…but homemade crackers really are fast to make, and go great with all that tomato soup you canned last fall.

Smoky Paprika Cheddar Crackers – one dozen large or two dozen smallish crackers.  400°F oven

¾ cup whole wheat pastry flour
1 teaspoon salt
½ teaspoon smoky paprika
½ teaspoon black pepper
2 ¼ cups of grated cheddar cheese
¼ cup melted butter
½ to 1 cup toasted, chopped pumpkin seeds or sunflower seeds

Preheat oven to 400°F.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

Melt butter, set aside to cool.
Toast seeds, let cool, chop.

Mix flour, salt, paprika, and pepper, set aside.

In large bowl combine cooled melted butter, cheese, and chopped nuts.  Stir well.  Add half of the flour/spice mixture and mix while scraping down the bowl.  Add the remaining dry mixture and continue mixing until a dough forms. I used my hands at this point.  Which really helped bring this mix together, it seems really dry at first but the warmth of your hands does the trick.

At this point I diverged from the recipe.  It called for making a log of the dough on parchment paper and freezing it.  Didn’t happen.  Since my hands were already messy from mixing the dough, my oven was preheated, and my pan was ready, I just formed balls of dough and flattened them into cracker shape.  Much less tedious than trying to meticulously cut shapes from the frozen log.   Much quicker too, it meant these crackers just moved to one of those go-alongs for dinner that taste like you toiled in the kitchen instead of the barn.  They are mighty tasty.

Bake about 8 – 10 minutes until golden brown around the edges.  Delicious!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. barefootfarmflower permalink
    February 24, 2015 6:05 pm

    Oh my gosh! First, I wish I hadn’t read your blog today because now I’m going to have to stop everything and make some of those crackers. Second- I’m going to have to make those crackers! Can you say “Crave!”?

  2. deb permalink
    February 24, 2015 6:32 pm

    I hate being gluten free…. sigh……

  3. February 25, 2015 8:22 am

    OMG! Laughing and salivating at the same time. Not a pretty picture…
    Everything else on my task list for the day just got shoved over.

  4. Chris permalink
    February 25, 2015 9:40 am

    Oh yum…I too have to make these crackers! I don’t have any pumpkin or sunflower seeds on hand…will the taste be altered much without them? I do have flax seeds…
    I can’t believe that garlic up so high already! 🙂

    • February 25, 2015 10:44 am

      Yum, flax sounds good too! Me either on the garlic, but I did garden prep tilling yesterday – in February. I think I’ve only been able to do that once before.

  5. Chris permalink
    February 25, 2015 12:22 pm

    I know! We’re so spoiled here in the Northwest! 🙂

  6. it's me sam permalink
    February 25, 2015 12:29 pm

    I wonder how they’d taste made with cumin and jalapeno cheddar? I just may have to try it!

  7. Chris permalink
    February 25, 2015 2:19 pm

    I just noticed your recipe calls for whole wheat pastry flour…can just plain ole whole wheat flour work?

    • February 25, 2015 2:37 pm

      I think so, even white or anything gluten free too, it’s doesn’t appear to be a fussy recipe.

  8. Chris permalink
    February 25, 2015 3:40 pm

    Great! Thanks!

Trackbacks

  1. Links: Cheese Boards, Hamantaschen, and Winners - Food in Jars

Leave a Reply

