Skip to content

TBT

February 26, 2015
1982 - Guernsey Simmental twin bulls

1982 – Guernsey Simmental twins

Me and my cousin posing the milk cow’s twin calves.  My outfit tells me I was sticking conifer cuttings in late February or early March when my cousins showed up to see the calves.  They lived down in the Coast Range, and kept me supplied with $25.00 Guernsey heifer calves from a nearby Guernsey dairy.  These babies are from one of those heifers.  Those were the days when you could buy a decent calf for a nominal fee.  Wow.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Chris permalink
    February 26, 2015 4:58 pm

    Love this vintage farm photo of all four of you! You look like a little girl…Wait! you were! 🙂

  2. Chris permalink
    February 27, 2015 8:25 am

    Hi Nita, did you happen to get my e-mail regarding returning a pasture to forest? I know you’re super busy but when you get time, can you shoot me a little advice.
    Thanks much!

  3. February 27, 2015 1:25 pm

    day old holstein bull calves, at auction, $300

  4. February 28, 2015 12:54 pm

    I was going to buy 10 head of steers to put on my good grass and feed with my good hay this winter, but I couldn’t stomach paying $1,000 for a 400lb calf. each.

  5. Wendy permalink
    March 12, 2015 7:12 am

    day old, beef calf, no history and probably no colostrum $450 at auction. dairy calves, bull and heifers, 2 days to 2 weeks, from 6 states away, start at $250 at auction. Dairy have lists 20 deep waiting on calves from them. And most of the buyers are city people who think a few bags of this and that and they’ll have a freezer full of ribeye and filet. This is going to go badly…really badly.

Leave a Reply

