Skip to content

Progressing

March 4, 2015

T-shirt weather inside the greenhouse today.

100_0128
Chilly outside though.  I spent the day amending the soil in the greenhouse and doing an initial bed prep.  The tractor’s maiden voyage after some minor repair work.  Phew.  All is well.

100_0127
Pea planting tomorrow perhaps.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2015 6:24 pm

    ah peas! wonderful.. c

  2. Bev permalink
    March 4, 2015 8:38 pm

    Only a gardener can say, “Such lucious looking soil…my fingers arre itching.” For anyone with the love of planting any kind of crop will look at your last pic and sigh. We have sunshine Daffodils in a vase and spring is near.

  3. March 5, 2015 12:04 am

    So jealous, yet again! We have more snow today about 4inches 😦 Still it isn’t as chilly as it could be, maybe I will get to do some more work in the greenhouse 🙂

    • March 5, 2015 6:12 am

      We only had one snow day this winter. One. I hope it warms up for you soon!

      • March 5, 2015 8:43 am

        The silly thing is that it is the 13th warmest winter since records began, so relatively warm really. Oh well, at least it is melting fast

  4. Lucy permalink
    March 5, 2015 5:10 am

    These pics give me hope as I sit here dreading going out in the 15 below air this morning….

  5. Bee permalink
    March 5, 2015 8:02 am

    Tee shirt weather yesterday, 32 this morning — ah, the teeter-totter of spring. My snow peas just broke ground day before yesterday; the Amish Snap Peas aren’t up yet. I’d rather be out in the garden, but I have a bunch of meat scraps to process into chicken balls and tallow so I’ll have room for the ham and bacon, which the butcher says is ready. My kid is planning to get an upright freezer, which will be nice, as there are a few times of the year when we just don’t quite have enough room. Of course, we strained them to capacity this year, because we butchered two lambs, two pigs and a beef all at the same time so the butcher could make one trip. We used to do the smaller animals ourselves, but my husband’s back just can’t handle it any more. Fifty years of running heavy equipment and three back surgeries will do that to a guy…

    • March 5, 2015 9:01 am

      Same here, frosty mornings and sweating by afternoon. I hear you on the back thing – how’d we get old?

      • Bee permalink
        March 5, 2015 9:14 am

        Durned if I know. I suspect it’s the kid’s fault. If insanity is heredity because you get it from your kids, it seems to me old age should work the same way…

  6. barefootfarmflower permalink
    March 6, 2015 9:36 am

    I planted peas outside a few days ago- Mammoth Melting Sugar peas. I can’t wait to see the first little spikes of green coming out of the soil. I had to hold back and not plant the entire package, just in case.

Leave a Reply

