Skip to content

Annual Thoughts about Perennials

March 13, 2015
Tristar everbearing strawberries

Tristar everbearing strawberries

A practice that has made me a “better” gardener is to treat some of my perennial plants as annuals.  I’m a lazy gardener, weeding perennials drives me crazy or just doesn’t happen unfortunately.  I’m just being honest.  I love looking at perennial gardens, they can be a thing of beauty.  Just not here under my watch.

My perennial favorites for annual cropping?  Strawberries, sage, thyme and oregano are what we worked on transplanting yesterday.  The strawberries got moved to a clean new row, and the baby herb plants were repotted to larger pots so they can grow large enough before garden planting time.

This may not work for everyone, but I find that the small amount of time tending a few new seeds each year of the smaller herbs or dealing with replanting daughter strawberry plants, is time well saved on the weeding end of the equation.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. bgf permalink
    March 13, 2015 8:08 am

    Wow. This opens my eyes to a whole new solution! I have been fighting my strawberry patch for years and just never thought of looking at them as a transplanted annual every year. I’ll be giving this lots of thought!
    I’ve been reading your blog for years, but am a new commenter. I want to thank you for writing this blog. I have learned a tremendous amount and have been working to implement some of these methods on my own farm and garden, and with my own livestock.

    • March 13, 2015 8:13 am

      Thank you! Everbearing strawberries work the best since they are so prolific, I haven’t tried annual or biennial planting with June bearing varieties.

  2. March 13, 2015 5:53 pm

    Hmm. Just last weekend, I dug up all the strawberries, and tore the bed apart, to deal with the grasses, weeds and mint that had eaten it. Now I feel better. : )

  3. HEather permalink
    March 14, 2015 9:37 am

    it works well on the June bearing also – I did it last fall with my daughter plants – relocate to a new area and that will be this year’s strawberries. 🙂

    • March 14, 2015 4:46 pm

      Good to know! I’ve strayed away from June bearers because we just like having strawberries for months instead of for a few weeks. We had fresh strawberries until it froze in November last year 🙂

  4. March 15, 2015 11:06 am

    Ah, yes, one important thing to add to my garden to-do list! Thanks for the reminder!

Leave a Reply

