Skip to content

Spanning Generations

March 22, 2015

EOS101_1100
Grandma’s cook stove, and mom’s Griswold.

Cookstove multi-tasking.  Warming oven for muffins, heating muffin pan, making ghee, keeping the muffin platter warm, and warming my heart.

Cookstove multi-tasking. Warming oven for muffins, heating muffin pan, making ghee, keeping the muffin platter warm, and warming my heart.

 

EOS101_1126
Add in a recipe from mom’s National Grange Bicentennial cookbook, and some new Fiestaware.  Yum!  Not real sourdough, since the recipe calls for yeast, but still delicious!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Bee permalink
    March 22, 2015 6:36 am

    Cast iron – the cookware that lasts forever! I’ve got enough to give each granddaughter at least one pan when she sets up housekeeping and still keep some for myself. I find that tallow is the absolute best for seasoning the pans – what’s your experience, Nita?

    • March 22, 2015 9:57 am

      Bee, tallow is usually what I use too because I have it on hand. My husband used to buy cast iron for his collection and he always bought a piece from an old guy who used peanut oil, his wares are gorgeous! We always stopped at his booth at the Antique Show in Portland, and I bought my most favorite quilt top from him. A quick search found this article, I see he’s still at it, we had to stop our accumulating at some point – too much stuff!
      http://registerguard.com/rg/news/local/32642869-75/cast-iron-charlie-knows-his-wares-at-flea-market.html.csp

      • Bee permalink
        March 22, 2015 2:57 pm

        Ooh, those would be bad news for me; I have a severe peanut allergy. I bet he’s a pretty interesting fellow, though. Must take a huge pot to be able to submerge something like a dutch oven in oil of any kind!

        • March 22, 2015 3:07 pm

          Bee, he he, I can’t touch those, but I never thought of folks with peanut allergies, good point. I read something the other day about flax seed oil too, to shellac the pans…not too sure that’s a pretty strong taste 😦

  2. March 22, 2015 6:52 am

    I deeply envy you that cookstove.. I hope to have one … one day.. c

  3. March 22, 2015 9:06 am

    I Love the everyday connections to the past.

  4. Chris permalink
    March 22, 2015 10:59 am

    Love this! I can almost feel the warmth coming from your kitchen…both in beloved, things passed down and from the stove itself! 🙂

  5. March 23, 2015 5:53 am

    Nothing makes me a happy homesteader like a cookstove covered in several projects – bread rising, milk clabbering, cheese setting, soup at the back, canner full of salmon….
    I feel fortunate to have a cookstove outside for the summer months – can’t imagine how I could accomplish half what I do on an electric stove 😊
    I use pork lard on my cast iron – mostly because I have lots handy.

    • March 23, 2015 8:18 am

      Val, and they are so economical too, heat, lots of cooking space at several temperatures and just so darn sweet. I can’t make those muffins unless I make them on the cookstove, the electric just doesn’t cut it!

Leave a Reply

