Skip to content

Garden Notes – March 22, 2015

March 25, 2015

EOS101_1169
Plugging along, this is the March weather we expect.  Cool and rainy.  So most “garden” work is really in the greenhouse.  Seeding, weeding, and biding our time.  All the first direct seeded plantings of carrots, beets, peas, and cilantro (major food group here) are up, and wanting some liberation from weeds.  Cabbages, kale and lettuce have been transplanted, and we’re eating the first of the bok choy as greens.  No sense in waiting for the heads to form, that will happen soon enough, since I try to seed this every week or two.  Spring tonic best describes the feeling and taste of the first tender greens that are young and vibrant, after weeks of raab and nettles, this bok choy and arugula sate the longing for tender young greens.

Joi to the world!

Joi to the world!

Seeding list 3/22/15

Cabbage:  Nash’s Summer Green, Tokyo Bekana
Cauliflower:  Vitaverde, Cheddar, Denali
Broccoli:  Arcadia
Hakurei turnip
Mustard:  Joi Choi, Ruby Streaks, Early Mizuna, Pink Lettucy
Kolibri kohlrabi
Lettuce:  Parris Island, Little Gem, Thai 88, Flashy Green Butter Oak, Hyper Red Rumple, Simpson Elite
Alliums:  Ed’s Red Shallot, Blue Solaise Leek

I’ve had some spotty germination on peppers much to my dismay, and after much hand wringing and thinking about the dilemma I decided that I must have a cold spot in one of my heat mats.  So I switched a few flats around and finally I’m seeing a little action in the slow pepper rows.  I may need to reseed a few varieties.  It’s always something, I think, with farming and gardening.  A couple of steps ahead and one back.  Moving ahead today and potting up tomatoes, they all germinated.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 25, 2015 12:39 pm

    I am excited about my tomatoes germinating, too. Every single one of the Constoluto Genevese seeds you recommended have come up. Some were coming up at 5 days after planting. This is the first year I’ve started seeds so seeing a new sprout or two come up each day is a bit more of a thrill than it probably should be.

  2. deb permalink
    March 25, 2015 7:44 pm

    it must be heavenly with those rows and rows of green coming up! This year, we hope to install the biggest greenhouse we can afford, but for now, there are a couple of cold frames that will have to suffice. Even with single digit temperatures, flats of cold hardy greens are beginning to sprout out there. We have old fashioned radiators in our old house, and I have found they make a nice warmer for peppers and tomatoes. I just turn a couple of old muffin tins upside down on the radiator as a buffer, and place the flats on that so they don’t get TOO much heat. Works! But I am out of window and radiator space now… what to do?

    • March 25, 2015 10:53 pm

      Some sort of shelving and LED outdoor lighting – well that’s what I’m doing due to lack of window space 😀

  3. Mich permalink
    March 26, 2015 5:57 am

    I had bad germination on my sweet peppers last year….so I sowed extra this year and needless to say nearly all have germinated. Pepper fest. Tomatoes seeds are just up 🙂

    • March 26, 2015 8:55 am

      Funny how that works, and I find too if I sow later the later ones catch up. But I can’t resist hurrying :p

  4. Kristin permalink
    March 29, 2015 3:23 am

    Have you tried Blue Wind broccoli? I grew it last Spring and was very pleased with it. I noticed you are growing Arcadia.

Leave a Reply

