Skip to content

What’s Growing This Week

April 13, 2015

Cooler weather (read normal) has sure caused my gardening efforts to grind to a halt.  Outside the garlic is doing great, but we’ve had enough rainy days to delay any planting or thoughts of planting any crops outside.

Inside the greenhouse though it’s an entirely different story.  I’ve backed off a bit on my weekly seeding schedule because the coolness has slowed the growth and I’m running out of room for flats of starts.  But things are progressing nicely.

100_0220
Tomatoes!

100_0219
More tomatoes.

100_0223
Peppers of all kinds.

100_0221
Celeriac.

100_0245
Herbs, onions and leeks.

100_0244
More lettuce and brassicas.

100_0234
Lettuce.

100_0227
Bok choy – first succession.

100_0225
Bok choy – second succession.

100_0226
Bok choy- third succession.  We do eat a lot of bok choy…and it grows fast and furious.  Mustards are funny like that.

100_0233
Snap peas.

100_0229
Beets.

100_0231
Carrots with a volunteer calendula friend.

100_0235
Transplanted daikon and salad turnips sharing row cover.

100_0236
Direct seeded daikon, black radish and salad turnips sharing the same bed as the transplants.  Direct seeding at the same time I transplant older plants saves lots of labor and gives me a good succession time frame.

100_0237

Kohlrabi successions one and two transplanted at first true leaf stage.

100_0241
Kales and cabbages for days.

100_0240

100_0239
100_0238
100_0243
100_0228
100_0247
Last but not least, the first succession of cilantro.  This isn’t everything, but it’s everything I have a photo of this week.  I’m getting the feeling that I will gamble and plant my tomatoes this week in the greenhouse.  Of course, that will be after I get the cows transitioned back to grazing.

 

25 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2015 3:32 pm

    Impressive!!

  2. April 13, 2015 3:47 pm

    Greenhouse envy here 😊 just now starting some seeds.

  3. April 13, 2015 3:52 pm

    Incredible! And everything looks pristine. Our garlic is about 7 inches tall now, and the leeks were planted yesterday.

  4. epeavey1 permalink
    April 14, 2015 3:55 am

    Your green house looks great, dealing with too much rain here in North East Georgia, got the potatoes in but it looks like a river ran through the garden last night. Hopefully by the end of next week, I have my squash, pumpkins, watermelons, peppers all in large containers just waiting. I even put the small sweet potatoes slips in window boxes, I’m sure glad i held off on putting the sweet potatoes in the garden. Ellen from Georgia

  5. Allisa permalink
    April 14, 2015 6:55 am

    You’re little plants all look so healthy and happy.
    I attempted my first foray into seedlings. I had them in my basement with heat and grow light. Was told to take them outside for natural sun when we have a warm day. A warm day came to Southern Utah….then a bit of breezy wind.
    They’re all looking very poorly now. My artichokes were so robust and now horrible. My tomatoes; very sad. 12 different seed-starts and the only thing that appears unharmed is the peppers.
    I started everything on 3/13, thinking 8-10 weeks before transplant date here in zone 6.
    I’m so bummed out.

    • April 14, 2015 9:02 am

      Don’t despair…you still have time to start again, later starts will grow faster and catch up to the ones that have a slow start. It’s hard not to be eager though, we’ve all been there:p Start some new ones and keep the old ones and then plant the best of the lot when your soil is ready.

      Ha ha, the little plants look happy because we are at their beck and call! Too hot, too cold, oh no, open up the greenhouse, close the greenhouse!!!! Did I turn on the heat mat? Did I cover the plants?

      • Allisa permalink
        April 14, 2015 9:55 am

        Ooooo….never thought of starting new and having them catch up.

      • April 15, 2015 8:56 am

        What is your process of seeding? I have some guys started, but are getting really robust, still a little ‘weak’ looking. About three weeks into them now, mostly tomatoes.

        • April 15, 2015 10:10 am

          Holly, I start seedlings in an unheated greenhouse, 200 cell flats, eat mats, and no supplemental light. No lights keeps me honest and keeps me from starting too early. Once the true leaves appear, I pot up to a larger size.

  6. christinalfrutiger permalink
    April 14, 2015 7:44 am

    Wow! 🙂

  7. christinalfrutiger permalink
    April 14, 2015 7:49 am

    Now don’t laugh but have you ever planted watermelon and had any success? Even the small ones? I tried a variety last year that was supposedly developed in Idaho and was supposedly supposed to grow in cooler climates. Well, the one watermelon that I got reached the size of a baseball…or maybe a bell pepper! Ok, you can laugh now! 🙂

    • April 14, 2015 9:04 am

      I never have, but I’ve had good luck with cantaloupe and honeydew in the greenhouse of course, outside forget it. Check out the farmers market in your area and see what the market growers are bringing in and then quiz the heck out them, plastic mulch? greenhouse? etc.

  8. christinalfrutiger permalink
    April 14, 2015 9:14 am

    I have never seen a watermelon in any of our local farmer’s markets….Should that be a clue right there? 🙂

    • April 14, 2015 9:40 am

      That’s hard to believe! Of course we can’t count the east side growers but that might be your clue.

  9. Adam permalink
    April 14, 2015 11:51 am

    Christina, not sure if you are in N ID (I am on the Palouse), but I planted melons last year (Athena) from Territorial, and they did great out in the open. We get a bit warmer than MOH, so that is likely why I don’t have to put them under cover. Was thinking about attempting watermelons, but haven’t gone there yet……..

  10. CassieOz permalink
    April 14, 2015 6:46 pm

    Nita, I just love to see your updates and vicariously enjoy the results of your hard work. Thinks are shutting down as it’s mid-autumn here and we’ve just had our first light overnight frosts. I’ve had to rely on DH in the garden so, unfortunately it’s seriously underperformed. Perhaps a blessing as I’d have had a difficulty with much preserving. Your are the envy of all of us; your organisation, record keeping, accumulated knowledge and sheer hard work. I look forward to following your growing season.

    • April 14, 2015 9:48 pm

      We had some snow today…does that count as frost? Glad to hear from you! Hopefully you can get some much deserved rest now that autumn is firmly showing it’s colors 🙂

      • April 15, 2015 12:41 am

        You too! We had snow overnight – just as we think Spring is on the way

        • April 15, 2015 10:08 am

          It never did stick, then turned to hail and rain, and then froze. Today is looking much better, at least there is a glowing orb visible in the sky!

        • April 16, 2015 4:04 am

          Same here 🙂

  11. Mich permalink
    April 15, 2015 9:34 am

    Everything is looking good 🙂 I am so behind….as usual. Aghh.

Leave a Reply

