Skip to content

What’s Growing

May 15, 2015

Well, actually what’s growing and what’s just planted.  Lists are so nice…a cheater post again.

clean place to store bok choy slated for breakfast while I weeded last night

clean place to store bok choy slated for breakfast while I weeded last night

The list of plantings in order of how I ‘see’ them in my mind as I type…good mental exercise since I don’t do crossword. I may be forgetting somebody, but I think this is pretty much it.

Potatoes – Dark Red Norland, Purple Viking, Desiree.
Carrots – Nelson, Napoli, Red Cored Chantenay
Peas – Sugar Sprint
Cabbage – Charmant, Ruby Ball, Melissa, Nash’s Green (Columbia), Toyko Bekana
Kale – Lacinato Morton, White Russian, Red Russian, Red Ursa
Bok Choy – Joi Choi
Arugula – Basic
Turnips – Hakurei
Radish – Black Spanish, Miyashige
Kohrabi – Kolibri
Lettuce – Parris Island, Little Gem, Red Salad Bowl, Oscarde, Merlot, Thai 88, Anuenue, Flashy Green Butter Oak.
Parsnip – Turga
Spinach – Space
Mizuna, – Early Green, Ruby Streaks
Beets – Lutz, Detroit Dark Red, Touchstone Gold
Beans – Uncle John (dry), Maxibel
Chard – Fordhook Giant, Five-color Silverbeet
Cilantro – Pokey Joe, and ours?
Broccoli – Arcadia, Romanesco
Cauliflower – Cheddar, Vita Verde, Denali
Garlic – Music
Onions – Walla Walla, Guardsman, Red Long of Tropea
Leeks – Bandit, King Sieg and maybe one more I can’t recall…
Shallots – Ed’s Red
Tomatoes – Amish Paste Kapuler, Bellstar, SunSugar, Pantano Romanesco, Astiana, Costoluto Genovese, Sweet 100, Japanese Black Trifele (I’m cutting back this year)
Peppers – Flavorburst, Numex Joe E Parker, Early Jalapeno, Hidalgo, Red Ruffled Pimiento, Piment d’ Espelette, Basque, Padron
Squash – Sweet Meat, Musque d Provence, Nutterbutter, Cocozelle, Raven, Dark Star, Spookie, Styrian Naked Seed
Cucumbers – Marketmore 76, Lemon
Melons – Delicious PMR, Piel de Sapo

and way too many annual flowers and herbs to list.

Still to plant sometime in the next month, Gilfeather turnip, Joan rutabaga, sweet corn, flint corn, and more of just about everything above that lends itself to succession planting.

late night light in the greenhouse is kind.  Buckwheat can quickly become a weed if you let it.

late night light in the greenhouse is kind. Buckwheat can quickly become a weed if you let it.

 

22 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2015 10:09 am

    Yummm, glad to see some of my favorites in your list. I have fallen in love with golden beets and red norland potatoes do very well for me. But what do you do with all your greens? I grow many and end up eating only a small fraction. Do you have any recipes for kale/chard/bok choy/spinach to share?

    • May 15, 2015 10:12 am

      Oh my, we eat greens a couple of times a day, that bok choy head was breakfast with eggs and sausage, we had taco salad for dinner, and always kale in smoothies too. Anything else goes to the chickens or piggies. I think the key on greens for the home gardener is small successions so you have a constant supply of tender greens.

  2. May 15, 2015 10:22 am

    Wow, lots of varieties I haven’t heard of. Will have to satisfy my curiosity.

    We’re trying to eat more greens over here, too. I planted mustards (green wave, red giant) but they got powdery mildew, orach (beautiful but not tasty), kales (red russian and scarlet) that didn’t grow even though Red Russian is usually reliable for me, and collards (Alabama blue). Collards are good, but didn’t grow big enough to eat much. I don’t know why. If I had the room inside, I would have started them indoors and planted out the 1st week of March. Turns out that we really like beet greens. I planted Bull’s Blood and Chioggia. Bull’s Blood is especially delicious and so pretty. I am getting some decent sized roots, too, but I’d have been happy even if all I got was greens, because I finally found some that we like! Now I have to find some hot weather greens that we like, which will be much harder.

    Where did you get your Musque de Provence seeds? Will they mature in time for you? I’ll have to bother you at harvest time to find out how they did and how they taste!

  3. May 15, 2015 11:18 am

    All I can say is….incredible.

  4. Carrie permalink
    May 15, 2015 11:28 am

    As always, I’m impressed with the variety. One of many ‘next tasks’ is to import some Lutz seed – which I recall is a ‘winter keeper’? Probably too late for this year so I’ll have a go at those next year and see if they’ll grow on my clayey soil… and keep.

    • May 15, 2015 11:37 am

      Carrie, actually it’s not too late if you can procure some seed, they get pretty big planted this early, I’ll plant more later in the garden I irrigate, but these first ones in the dry garden need all the help and time they can get.

  5. May 15, 2015 11:37 am

    Buckwheat may become a bit of a weed, but one the chickens love 🙂 I will post a list this week too, but no detail on varieties. It was getting complicated

    • May 15, 2015 11:44 am

      Joanna, mine may not be complete, but I like to play the memory game, I typed that from memory, which may lead to some misspellings too :p

  6. May 15, 2015 3:49 pm

    Do you plant the annuals and herbs out, or do they self seed? I threw around some marigold seed in my veggie patch recently, in hopes they’ll self seed every year.

    • May 15, 2015 5:01 pm

      Chris, no I have to start them, and while some are perennials, I find it easier to start new each year. Perennial beds and me just don’t get along.

  7. May 16, 2015 3:51 am

    As always I’m spellbound. Its like hearing about a new galaxy, but its food. Food I can grow, if I can find the seed that is. Once again. Thank you. More research to be done.

  8. Beth in Ky permalink
    May 16, 2015 5:29 am

    In an earlier post you mentioned blog ideas…. I would love to hear you touch on the water situation again. You mentioned before about not owning the rainwater in the northwest, blew my socks off! There is a big push here in Ky to put the automatic waters out for stock (grants paying for 80% of cost) but I wonder, then what… a tax on that water after everyone gets switched over?? Just bought a new tank and repaired gutter & downspouts last week. I read something online about farm ponds & creeks in the eastern us being piped west. As in it’s already mapped out. Also when you raise pigs, do you raise them on concrete, and how often do you clean up? Here folks used to raise pigs in the woods, and with hardwoods they NEVER fed them! I never saw it myself but have heard the oldtimers talk about the taste of those freerange pigs and the size of them. Was that never done in Oregon?

    • May 16, 2015 5:43 am

      Beth, yeah water is a touchy subject, you can collect rainfall from your roof, here storage is the problem if we were to do that, because we go months without rain in the summer. Much easier to grow plants that don’t require irrigation than to try to duplicate irrigation with massive tanks and stagnant water…gluten free baked goods come to mind or tofurkey…it’s just a mindset to substitute. As for the pigs, I have the pigs fenced in a area that has blackberries we want to eradicate, they are moved and they are on the ground. We don’t have any concrete to speak of here, a sidewalk at the house is about it. There are no hardwoods here to speak of either for mast, but mostly the stories I heard as a child were the pigs that were kept in the woods in these parts were for cleaning up mash, and apparently a pair showed up at our farm and my dad sent them home with a note tied on mentioning that they had wandered quite a ways from the still…they never came back. I suppose pigs could find enough to eat around here, if cougars didn’t eat them, but I certainly wouldn’t want free-ranging pigs around, it’s bad enough if they get out.

      • May 16, 2015 11:30 pm

        You most certainly do not want free ranging pigs around. We have them – they are called wild boar. The meat is quite an experience, absolutely gorgeous and deep red, but the oh the holes they dig, wherever they like. We have a running battle with them to keep our pasture areas good enough for our animals and at times it feels like we are on the loosing side.

        • May 17, 2015 6:05 am

          Joanna, I know that for sure. No wild pigs here, but our pasture is too precious, pigs are edge animals but it’s pretty much the rage to have pigs on pure pasture. A friend in Hawaii has the same problem as your feral pigs, awful.

  9. sarah permalink
    May 17, 2015 6:22 pm

    your part for the reason ive re started intensive gardening,,thank you!

  10. susan permalink
    May 18, 2015 8:45 am

    That bok choy is amazing~ as is your entire garden. I love the idea of bok choy for breakfast 🙂 we are pretty far behind you, although the weather has gone from early spring to late summer. This should be a challenging year.

  11. bunkie permalink
    May 18, 2015 3:42 pm

    Love your lists!!!

Leave a Reply

