Skip to content

While waiting

May 25, 2008

Cajoling Jetta has become a weekly chore.  I have tried new lead ropes, made by DH especially for her in her favorite color.  New bridge washers on her cross ties, so she won’t hurt me herself fighting me as I try to milk her for the first time, etc.  Nothing has worked.  News today from the herd, that they are done calving, got nothing but a blank stare.

So I guess I will get out the ingredients to make calendula salve for her.  This is how my homeopathic doctor makes her salve.

What you need:
♥ dried high resin calendula flowers. Resina is a good variety- but use what you have.
♥ high quality olive oil – organic if possible.
♥ beeswax
♥ short wide jars with lids.  I buy mustard, with salve making in mind.

First plant a high resin calendula for a more potent salve.  Gather flowers and dry completely in cool, dark place.
Store dry flowers in a cool dark place.  At least a week or two before making salve, pack a quart jar tightly with as many calendula petals as possible.  Add olive oil (olive oil doesn’t get rancid, so your infused oil should keep at least a year) until petals are completely saturated.  Let sit at least a week.  Grate 1 ounce of beeswax per 5 ounces of oil.  This is the ratio used for any kind of salve.  Experiment – if it’s too soft, add more beeswax, too firm, re-melt and add more oil.  Some recipes call for heating the oil and petals, but that can destroy some of the medicinal qualities of the herbs.  When melting the wax and combining the oil a low heat is best.

Dried calendula flowers, infused calendula petals, and grated beeswax.

Drain off oil in quantity needed.

1 pint of infused oil.
//i27.tinypic.com/2008doj.jpg

 
 
 
These petals will sink to the bottom, and you can avoid most of them when pouring this into your pan.  If a few remain, it doesn’t matter, this is for the cow.  You could also strain this through a screen if it concerns you. 
 
 
 

 

Homemade double boiler, with calendula oil and beeswax.

To make a quick double boiler, I put canning rings in the bottom of the pan for a make-shift rack.  This keeps your top pan away from the direct heat. 

While I’m waiting for the beeswax to melt, I wash and dry my containers.  I try to have a variety of sizes on hand, so I not hunting for another jar, when it is time to pour.  I do the same thing when I canning. 

Pour into containers, mess optional! 

There, I did better on the last one.

 

Finished product,  and a small jar for me – I love this old cold cream jar!  (I’m using it for my hands)
//i25.tinypic.com/14cwv3n.jpg

 This will save you money – a 2 ounce jar of calendula salve will cost you about $9.95.  I didn’t keep track of the costs on this batch.  But I ended up with about 18 ounces of salve, and I know it didn’t cost $90.00.  My best estimate:  calendula 0, jars 0, organic olive oil $14.00.  Not bad. 

10 Comments leave one →
  1. May 26, 2008 3:53 am

    very unique, congratulations for the excellent initiative

  2. May 26, 2008 12:49 pm

    Very cool!

    Have I told you lately that I adore your blog in every single way?

    You are my hero!

    Blessings!
    Lacy

  3. May 26, 2008 1:33 pm

    thanks for the recipe, I’ve never made hand cream/salve but will try this.

  4. May 26, 2008 6:59 pm

    Love these kinds of posts! You’re so clear and detailed, not to mention the wonderful pics.

    Sending Jetta-calf vibes.

  5. matronofhusbandry permalink*
    May 26, 2008 8:30 pm

    Nocciolo, Thank you.

    Lacy, you are so nice, YOUR blog is wonderful – I didn’t have time to comment on your marriage post, but I LOVED it. Good advice, that we all need to hear once in awhile.

    Hayden, you will find salve comes in very handy when you start homesteading.

    Danielle, Thank you, it is an exercise for me to write things down in a somewhat clear, concise manner. Thanks for reading. Jetta is thanking you – she is at that miserable stage!

  6. May 27, 2008 6:26 am

    We have an aunt that deeps us supplied with this. It would be interesting to show her your recipe. She also makes the best lip balm. I’m predicting Jetta will do the deed today without you having to wear a lick of jewelery:)

  7. matronofhusbandry permalink*
    May 27, 2008 4:42 pm

    Linda, I bet your aunt has a great recipe, it’s nice of her to share with you. I think you’re right about the big “J”!

  8. Shelly Fulwood permalink
    February 16, 2013 2:30 pm

    thanks for sharing i’m definitely trying this recipe with a little vitamin e oil added for persistent eczema on my hands and feet.

  9. June 23, 2015 5:08 am

    I have been making this salve for years! Did you get it from an old pioneer cookbook by any chance? This works for EVERYTHING! I did Farmers Markets for years & sold it there. I sold the 2 oz. jars for $5, & the 10 oz. for $10- and some people thought that was way too high. …but the ones that tried it came back and bought more for family and friends because it worked so good!… have you used it on paper cuts yet? I got many of those and they hurt for days, until I made this and used it , they cut was healed in a matter of hours! I can’t say enough about this balm, new moms an cracked nipples, works great and being it’s all natural shouldn’t hurt the baby, scrapes and cuts, cracked heals, rashes… I tell you, anything we’ve tried this on, it works!
    I just found your blog a few days ago and I am going through and reading everything! I love your posts, so informative! It makes me miss the Northwest so much though! Not quite enough to move back to Washington, the rain is just too much where we lived!. ..the canning, the berries, apples , peaches, my home canned vegetables! We moved to the desert years ago and are hoping to move to the mountains, now … after reading all about non-GMO foods we want our own garden again! And we can’t grow one here, we tried and it’s just too hot and dry! Even planting in the winter, the yields weren’t very high before it was too hot to grow anything!
    Thank you so much for posting all this information, I keep reading your different posts, and learning new things everyday! I love it!

  10. June 23, 2015 5:09 am

    Oops…the 4 oz for $10!

Leave a comment