Skip to content

It all runs downhill

August 25, 2008

//i33.tinypic.com/f9nyqc.jpg" target="_blank">View Raw Image</a>

Finally, the tomatoes are getting some color.  Still not enough to preserve yet, but hopefully soon… .  At least enough to eat all we want. 🙂

 

My daughter is now old enough to do some preserving on her own, and she gets real interested if it’s something she actually grew.  Sometimes I pay attention, sometimes I don’t.  The other day in the midst of the “hay salvaging”, I went to get some fruit out of the freezer for a treat, and I had noticed she had put some broccoli in bags and put it in a freezer where she could find room, and promptly forgot about it.  I realized that most of the time it never works out that we would have an open shelf in one of the freezers that we keep meat in.  And, the other thing I hadn’t even considered was that I assumed she knew not to put vegetables or fruit underneath meat.  My fault. 

Then I realized maybe some of the people reading this blog are just getting their first freezer and in a flurry of preserving activity stuffing food in, anywhere they can.  We have upright freezers, and chest freezers.  It’s easy to keep shelves of different types of food separate in an upright freezer, but in a chest freezer, it isn’t so easy.

The easiest way to keep yourself and your food safe in case of a power outage, is to load your freezer the same way you are supposed to store meats and vegetables in your refrigerator.  Meat products on bottom, and vegetables on top.

To me poultry is the worst offender.  Raw poultry blood and fluids from eggs are hard to wash from dishes, I have to soak and wash the pans sometimes twice to get the smell out of the dishes that I have thawed out a chicken in.  Probably something to do with being a bird.  So with that in mind I try to load my freezer accordingly.  Asking myself, would I eat this raw or cooked.  Anything I would cook before eating goes on the bottom shelf.  For instance, if I was freezing chicken, beef and pork, I would put chicken on the bottom, then pork, and then the beef on top.  Why?  Because, I would eat beef raw, and I would never eat pork or chicken raw, or even half cooked.  So if the beef blood got on the pork or chicken, it wouldn’t matter because I would be cooking those types of meats.  But if chicken or pork blood leaked onto my beef packages, I would be upset.  No more raw beef for me.  Oh yeah – didn’t I tell you we eat steak tartare everyday.  😉  And, since all frozen blood looks the same, if you see blood on a package you won’t be able to discern what type of blood it actually is, unless you fill your freezer accordingly and make sure vegetables and fruit never are stored underneath meats, and meats you may be eating rare, will be on the top o’ the meat heap.

Happy freezing!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 25, 2008 10:52 pm

    How are you feeling after undoing all your hard work on the hay bales? Not so sore, I hope. I equate the feeling to having to undo all the hard work I put into my rag rug– I have been working on it, little by little since last winter and it measures a good 4×3 feet now. Then my aunt tells me I have been doing it wrong and that’s why I can’t get it to lay flat (it curls on the edges). I made 2 other rugs and my mom showed me how, and they look alright, not how I thought they would and now I know why, because I was doing it wrong. argh! So now I cannot go on, knowing I am doing it wrong and I want it done the right way, so I am about to undo it all and I hope I don’t get discouraged and let it sit for months and months (as I have been known to do).

    Your tomatoes look divine! How do those stripey green and yellow ones taste? I’ve just canned my first batch of tomatoes today! About time!

  2. August 26, 2008 12:30 pm

    Those tomatoes are so very lovely!

  3. August 26, 2008 1:35 pm

    Thanks for the heads up on the freezer storage, never thought about it like that. I guess I’ll go unload mine and see where everything is. Your maters look yummy! Ilove to read your blog, you are smarter than the average bear. haha!!

    Chris

  4. August 26, 2008 4:12 pm

    Can I have one of those Green Zebras?

    By the way, you’ve been nominated for the “I ♥ your blog” award.

  5. August 26, 2008 6:41 pm

    Very informative post. Thank you! Now that I’ve read this, I think I recall my mother drilling this into my head when I was younger. It’s a wonder what I forget…

  6. August 27, 2008 9:22 pm

    Jenny, not as sore as I thought I would be, and I know exactly what you mean about your rugs. My Mom was the knitting leader in 4-H, and I have taken out so many stitches I can’t even remember. But it does bug a person, once you know. Winter is coming, maybe you’ll have some more time then. I had this bright idea before my daughter was born that I would make her a quilt every other year, until I ran out of this certain fabric… WELLL I have completed one, and embroidered and pieced a top for the second one. She’s 14! Life just gets in the way. I think about making more, but I don’t think that counts.

    Those green striped tomatoes are GREEN ZEBRA, and they taste good, but they aren’t very productive. I still haven’t had enough to bother with canning, maybe this weekend, if the sun comes out for more than 2 hours!

    Kathie, thanks, soon I hope to have enough ripe ones to can.

    Chris, I want to know how you have time to can and garden AND go to the flea market and find all that good stuff!!! I think Liv and your MIL are doing some of that canning…

    You guys will be set for winter, when you butcher your steers. Then your freezer will be stuffed.

    TCD, thanks, I wondered what happened to those tomatoes.

    Mist, a lady I once worked with told me she had forgotten more than I knew at that time. I think she was probably right. I can remember phone #’s from people I have only called once or twice, but someone’s name, forget it. The older I get, the worse it gets.

  7. August 29, 2008 10:14 am

    How to stock a freezer – great advice, I never thought about it that way! And I do envy you your steak tartare…

    Now that all of my beef is pastured/not fed crap I’m comfortable eating my meat very rare again, but haven’t shaken the emotional need to at least sear the outside…

    Great idea on the crock pot. I’ve been craving the relief of canning tomato sauce, katsup, salsa – it’s just a *need* I carry (plus a longing for those good flavors) – but I continue to insist that I’m not having movers ship full canning jars back, so am resisting. Barely.

  8. December 20, 2010 9:56 am

    I am late learning all of this, but I want to say thank you for taking the time to explain all this to me. Since none of this was ever explained to me, I like to think ‘You’re never too old to learn’.

    Have a great week!

Leave a comment