Skip to content

Bread don’t live here anymore

November 12, 2008

//i35.tinypic.com/2hx0d9s.jpg" target="_blank">View Raw Image</a>Except during the holiday season, when we have to go to potlucks, and holiday gatherings.  We hardly eat any bread, HD isn’t supposed to, and HP and I get too tired if we eat refined carbs.  But, that doesn’t mean everyone else has to live on our jailhouse fare.  I used to bake a lot, and for gifts nothing beats fresh, homemade breads of any type.  But, before holidays comes practice, since I get a little crusty rusty during the warm summer months.  SO here is my “EVERYTHING ROLL DOUGH” recipe.  What is good and everything about it, is that it is a no knead, overnight dough that will lend itself to any shape, filling or what have you.  I use this for my cinnamon rings, garlic and Parmesan dinner rolls and today it was Cranberry Walnut Cinnamon Rolls.  Cinnamon Rolls can be comfort food, and I have been on pins and needles for several weeks, waiting for an article about our turkeys to come out in the paper.  Me being unable to keep my opinions to myself, I argued with the reporter, (not good, Hang Dog told me) the reporter called our fight an impasse.  But it ended with the reporter apologizing and me confessing I thought he was a girl, so we parted on good terms, but you never know.  I need white bread with sugar!!!

EVERYTHING ROLL DOUGH  makes about 2 dozen rolls
this dough has to rest overnight or all day so work that into your plans.

2 T dry yeast
1 1/4 c warm water
3 eggs
5 c flour
1/2 c sugar
1/2 c butter, melted
2 t salt
Optional savory or sweet ingredients:  softened butter, pesto, Parmesan, raisins, cranberries, cinnamon, brown sugar, honey, nuts, ???

Dissolve yeast in 1/4 cup warm water, stir and set aside and allow to work.  In a large mixer bowl, beat eggs and blend in proofed yeast.  Add 2 1/2 cups of flour, alternating with 1 cup of very warm water.  Mix in the sugar, melted butter, and salt.  Mix until dough is smooth.  Beat in the remaining flour to make a soft dough, (If the dough is sticky add a little more flour) then cover and let rise in a warm place until double in bulk, about 1 or 2 hours.

Punch dough down thoroughly, cover with plastic wrap, and refrigerate overnight.  The next day punch dough down and divide in half.  On a floured board, roll out each half into a rectangle about 8 x 15 inches.  Spread with desired filling.  Starting with the long edge, roll dough up.  With sharp knife, cut roll in 1 inch slices.  Place slices in greased baking dish, or greased muffin tins, cut side up.  Let rise until doubled in bulk, about 40 minutes to an hour.

Preheat oven to 400*F.  Bake rolls 8 to 10 minutes, or until golden brown.  Immediately brush with melted butter or glaze.

Honey Glaze
1/4 c butter
1/4 c honey
1/4 c buttermilk or cream
1 t vanilla
1 t soda
In a deep saucepan bring butter, honey, buttermilk, and vanilla almost to a boil, turn off heat and add soda.  When the soda is added this will foam quite a bit, so be prepared.  Spoon over hot rolls.

//i34.tinypic.com/2a9tv90.jpg" target="_blank">View Raw Image</a>
Our house runs on the cool side, so baking yeast breads takes a little thinking on my part.  “Rise in a warm place”  means sometimes in a car, on milking stool near the register, or in the cooler part of the year, the warming oven in the cookstove.  A good way to see if your yeast is lively or not, is to add a pinch of sugar while you’re dissolving the yeast.  If it is strong it will look like this.  That way you know your bread will raise in the time called for in the recipe.  Today it was too warm for a fire, so I turned the oven on for a few minutes and then turned it off, the residual heat was enough  to raise the dough the first raising.

//i35.tinypic.com/rb9wzk.jpg" target="_blank">View Raw Image</a>
I have to play a little, so I always make Mt. Hood in my bowl, and the lava today was yellow.

 

//i34.tinypic.com/nxm8zt.jpg" target="_blank">View Raw Image</a>
The camera was busy while the dough was raising, so I’m skipping ahead.  This is half the dough rolled out and spread with melted butter, brown sugar, and cranberries.  Roll up and cut in 1 inch slices.  A serrated knife works good for this step.   Sometimes I make savory rolls with half the dough and sweet rolls with the second half.  Trust me, if you show up at a potluck with two kinds of rolls, people will think you’re a hard core baker, not a lazy one like me!  Don’t tell.

//i33.tinypic.com/168fwj9.jpg" target="_blank">View Raw Image</a>
Place in baking dish with plenty of room, they will raise quite a bit. 

//i36.tinypic.com/28hdch0.jpg" target="_blank">View Raw Image</a>
Raised and ready for the preheated oven. 

//i35.tinypic.com/2ag407o.jpg" target="_blank">View Raw Image</a>
Ten minutes later, golden brown and ready for the glaze. 

//i34.tinypic.com/r0bh8o.jpg" target="_blank">View Raw Image</a>
This light glaze helps justify the eating of the rolls. 😉  It does foam quite a bit, so use a deep saucepan. 

//i38.tinypic.com/123qoae.jpg" target="_blank">View Raw Image</a>
Ta Da!

20 Comments leave one →
  1. November 13, 2008 2:34 am

    All I have to say is Yummy……..what time’s breakfast?

    I will be trying this recipe and soon. My cookstove runs constantly now with our cold temps – how great it will smell in my kitchen with rising bread dough on the stove

    Thanks for another great recipe 🙂

  2. November 13, 2008 2:53 am

    I am gonna make sure that our resident bakers see this recipe. We also give food gifts for the holidays…not to mention liking goodies ourselves. Thanks!

  3. November 13, 2008 3:17 am

    Oh my Lord, Nita, I felt my waist and hips get wider just by looking at the pictures. Those rolls look heavenly. I WILL be making these soon. Thank you for the step-by-step.

    Beth

  4. November 13, 2008 4:53 am

    Oh my good Lord, I haven’t eaten breakfast yet, and I’m looking at those ungodly yummy cinnamon rolls. So, mail them. Really. The worst part is that I don’t have the cranberries needed to replicate that gooey goodness.
    AHHHHHHHHHHHH!
    Okay, I’ll go get my coffee and things will start to look better. Anyway, I am making those tomorrow. Thanks for sharing.
    XOXO
    Joce

  5. November 13, 2008 6:14 am

    OOOOO, I haven’t made rolls in a long time. Mr Chiots will be begging me for a batch of these! Can’t wait to try it.

  6. November 13, 2008 6:22 am

    Consider yourself memed. http://jubbyplace.blogspot.com/2008/11/too-much-to-do.html
    XOXO
    joce

  7. November 13, 2008 7:34 am

    Whooooo yummmm! I haven’t made cinnamon rolls in a long-long-time. Today I will!

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com

  8. November 13, 2008 10:55 am

    Just yum!

  9. November 13, 2008 12:24 pm

    I think I just lost my mind looking at that. We haven’t had any refined anything in awhile, might just be time to throw us all into sugar overload.

  10. November 13, 2008 1:49 pm

    Why, why, why are we not neighbours!

  11. November 13, 2008 3:56 pm

    I shouldn’t be eating refined carbs either but what the heck sometimes you just need to.

  12. November 13, 2008 5:51 pm

    Those look so yummy and cinnamon rolls are one of our favorites. Sadly, I have yet to make them. Laughed out loud about your spat with the reporter!

  13. November 13, 2008 7:54 pm

    I made some cranberry walnut biscuits the other day and they were good. These look so much more sinful. I’m all over that. Mmmm….

    I want to hear more about the reporter spat. lol

  14. November 14, 2008 6:45 am

    Debi, thanks, we have been squeaking by without a fire, except at night. But, soon it will be everyday. I’m not complaining about 60 degree days. 🙂

    TC, I know what you mean, I wish someone around here was interested in baking, besides me! Do your girls hire out?

    Beth, thanks, I had to send the rolls to work with the hubby, and we gave the rest to a neighbor. 🙂 Too tempting otherwise.

    Joce, thanks heavens their all gone, or I would mail you some! I’ll get to that tag soon, I hope… thanks.

    Susy, don’t show him the pictures. 🙂 Unless of course you want to bake.

    Linda and Kathie, thanks.

    alecto, they will give you quite a buzz, but I sent most of them away. The lighter glaze is a little easier to take than some cinnamon roll glazes. But it still is pretty sweet and refined.

    HDR, I know I ask myself that sometimes myself!

    Linda, I agree, a girl has to do what a girl has to do. 😉

    Kim and Sarah, the spat started when the reporter insisted on interviewing us and coming out to the farm. Seems he had a deadline, which didn’t fit into our plans since this was a last minute assignment for him. I told him I could talk to him on the phone right then and answer his ?’s, and I could email him a photo of the turkeys. But, he assured me that only a professional photographer would do, and I had to be the farm since he didn’t have time to drive anywhere else. I told him No, I didn’t have time then, to accomodate him. Plus I also told him he really didn’t want to interview me, since I didn’t really think everyone should be eating turkey for Thanksgiving, and that I was struggling with that issue as a farmer. He had no knowledge of eating local, or sustainable or even about what an organic farm was. He does now. We left it at an impasse, until he called me several days later, apologetic for having a bad day. I confessed that all the time I had been reading his articles, I thought he was a girl, since his name is Shannon. We had a good laugh at that, since my husband has name that gets confused with women too. Sometimes people think we are “partners” :O. To make a long story longer, the article turned out great, with just a few errors, but it did exactly what I feared, it made more people than ever want a turkey for Thanksgiving. So I still have my reservations. Lots of calls from demanding people who need a turkey in two weeks, they had just read Omnivore’s Dilemma and now here we are. So still people are expecting slow food to be fast and there when ever the whim stikes. So I’m torn about the whole thing.

  15. November 14, 2008 10:45 am

    Thanks for this post. I’m a moron. I hate raisins so I never make raisin-bread.

    However, I LOVE craisins and never once thought about using them instead.

    Thanks for de-moron-ising me. These look great.

  16. November 15, 2008 7:56 pm

    Meadowlark, don’t be so hard on yourself, who knew how good dried cranberries could be – raisins are almost too sweet sometimes. Thank heavens for who ever thought of dried cranberries!

  17. November 16, 2008 5:14 am

    Ahhh…those thoughtful newspaper reporters.

    All I can say about the recipe is. Oh Yum.

  18. November 16, 2008 11:24 am

    Craig, the poor guy, he wasn’t into alternative food (as in organic or natural) at all. So I sicced (sp?) him on Jo R. and Higgins, maybe he will have a different Thanksgiving this year.

    Love the Lily Duck! 🙂

  19. November 16, 2008 6:00 pm

    You posted the recipe for flax seed rolls some time back. I just wanted to let you know that they have become one of the regulars in our bread box. They’re my favorite rolls! Yum.

Trackbacks

  1. Cat Creek Chronicles

Leave a comment