Skip to content

It’s hot

July 29, 2009

So hot, that all those informative posts rattling around in my head have failed to materialize.  Hopefully, pictures will suffice.  The thermometer hit 106°F in Portland yesterday, and a little to the north it was 108°F.  Too hot to be hauling hay, but we need to get the harvest in, and all I can say is that I am glad it isn’t raining.  So haying it is.  The roof project is on hold while we finish up the haying.  And I have decided to irrigate some of the vegetables.  High temperatures in the 90’s is one thing, 100+ for several days, I would be foolish to not water the gardens.

Here are some pictures of the last week.

100_0557.1

Pacific berries.

100_0439

Summer nights, hay fields and teenage girls on horseback – what more can I say?

100_0830

Bluecrop blueberries.

100_0858

Dryland Viking Purple potatoes.

100_0631
Green Arrow shelling peas, blanched and ready for the freezer.

100_1084

Music and Oregon Blue garlic curing in a tie stall.

100_0841

Veda’s Purple Pole bean.

100_0958

My view from the kitchen sink, well kind of, the zoom lens brings the trees very close – they are more than a 1000 feet away.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. July 30, 2009 1:04 am

    Your garlic and blueberries both look delicious. I love the sight and thought of hanging garlic – and all the delicious garlic in food coming up soon. Are Pacific berries a kind of blackberry?

    • July 30, 2009 4:18 am

      Mangochild, they are delicious and yielding well even with our dry spring. The Pacific berries were an experimental berry from Oregon State University that never took off. The flavor is the same as the wild Pacific trailing blackberry only a little larger. Tempermental and not too high yielding, but it is one of my “local” heirloom varieties that I am trying to keep going.

  2. July 30, 2009 3:08 am

    Everything looks good and I wish I had that from my kitchen window, unfortunately I have no windows in my kitchen, it is in the middle of the house, someday hope to change that!! Take care.

  3. July 30, 2009 4:41 am

    Wow, what a beautiful place you have out there. I love your pictures, especially the last one. Good luck managing the farm in all this heat.

    • July 30, 2009 4:48 am

      Mike, this is where I don’t like to hear the weather report – after I posted I heard of record high temps all around us of 111* and 112*! Too hot – can’t wait for our normal weather to come back.

      I agree, I think that picture of Della is my favorite too!

  4. July 30, 2009 6:08 am

    Apparently we don’t know our climate geography very well in this office. I am heading to Portland for business next week and my co-worker said… at least it won’t be as hot as here (low 90s) and I thought he was right. Guess not!

    I have never been to the NW so I hope I actually get to see some it and not get worked to the bone.

    • July 30, 2009 6:44 am

      Billie, it should be back to our typical weather next week 🙂 Mid 80’s. On shore flow from the Pacific means cloudy mornings, then the clouds burn off by noon or so, and then it is sunny and clear with cool comfortable evenings. Lots of things to see and do!

  5. July 30, 2009 6:13 am

    Nice looking fruit and veggies! Hope you get the moisture you need.

  6. July 30, 2009 7:34 am

    I was going to ask if that was my friend “Marion” but you already answered. Do you expect Pacific berries to make their way to the market? I only got one flat of marionberries for marionberry jam. 😦

    Glad it’s cooling off today.

    • July 30, 2009 7:54 am

      Meadowlark, no, Pacifics were an experimental variety that just couldn’t cut it for commercial growing. The taste is incredible but they really resist husbandry, preferring to just go where they want, and they aren’t too cold hardy either. Raintree Nursery carries a similar berry called the Cascade, but check to see if it will grow in Central Oregon, I think it may be too cold if you don’t have blackberries already trying to grow over your house!

      LOL, about the heat, can you believe you guys on the eastside are cooler than Portland?

  7. July 30, 2009 7:57 am

    Yay for Music garlic!! I planted garlic for the first time this year and planted 7 different varieties to get a sense of what tasted and grew best. I am SO impressed with the Music…the bulbs are large and their smell: heavenly!! My Inchelium Red came in second.
    Maybe I’ll try some Oregon Blue next year…
    This weather is nuts, isn’t it? sheesh. Ready for the cooldown…

  8. July 30, 2009 9:21 am

    Oh-ho! So that’s where the hot weather went! It has been amazingly cool here lately, but no complaints from me. Usually by now, it’s hot and humid and the minute I step in the house, I start thinking today is the day the A/C comes on. But I resist and sit in front of the fan instead. So far this summer, the A/C has remained off, not even thought about yet.

    Your growing things all look so divine! When’s supper? :o)

  9. July 30, 2009 10:03 am

    Great pics!
    I planted garlic for the first time this year(German Extra Hardy). I have heard great reviews on Music. I think I’ll give that a try this Fall.

  10. Robin permalink
    July 30, 2009 11:17 am

    I grow Oregon Blue. For me it grows small but very spicy! Yum.

  11. July 30, 2009 11:34 am

    We are finally having some nice weather. Our heat has left, but your heat is headed our way. Bummer. Get your hay in while the getting is good, at least you don’t have rain on it.

    I loved looking at your crops and your land. Everything is looking good, you should be proud! Way to go.

    I love your cow photo! Cows are one of the nicest animals around, I do believe.

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com

  12. Sandra permalink
    July 30, 2009 12:42 pm

    Oh how wonderful. God willing some day I will have the room to grow that many potatoes 🙂

    And I love the view from your kitchen window 🙂
    Sandy

  13. Kristen Fry permalink
    July 30, 2009 4:09 pm

    Just beautiful!! We are having unseasonably cool temps with lots of rain right now…hard to get chores done outside with all of the wet weather but the veggies are enjoying it!!

  14. July 31, 2009 6:50 am

    I am sorry to hear of this dreadful heat wave in Oregon. We have had some much needed rain, but the hot weather will return next week. I can’t imagine working in the heat like that where you live. Take good care of yourself and drink lots of water.

  15. August 1, 2009 4:31 pm

    my jaw started jerking when I saw those berries. Saliva glands just went bazerk

    (:

Leave a comment