Skip to content

Putting a damper on the holiday baking

December 16, 2009

The problem with using antiques every day is that when something gives up the ghost it takes some searching to find parts. 

We use our cookstove for cooking and heating, so it is pretty integral to the scheme of things around here. 

Cookstove oven door spring

So when the oven door didn’t close properly Hangdog suspected the spring broke.  We leave the oven door open a lot to distribute the heat, and close it for cooking and baking of course.  I have an electric stove, but having two ovens is nice during holiday baking season.

The stove was purchased by my grandparents in 1917, and I had it restored in 1984, but I doubt the spring was replaced since the door was in good working order.  I am guessing that this is the original spring.  The fella that fixed my stove has passed away, but after a few phone calls, I found someone not too far away who was confident that he had just what I needed.  He insisted I mail the spring, and a check and he would send me a replacement straight-away.  However, Hangdog has this thing about sending original parts of anything off into oblivion.  So I sent a photo and a letter to my stove Santa, Walter, explaining I was caught between two guys wanting two different things, and to please have mercy on me. 

I am hoping he receives my letter and sends my spring for Christmas 🙂  The stove looks kinda sad without its oven door 😦

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Jeff permalink
    December 16, 2009 8:28 am

    This is a pretty easy way to make springs. Hope this helps:

    http://www.instructables.com/id/Make-your-own-springs-in-seconds/

  2. December 16, 2009 9:03 am

    I’ll take a look in the shop…….your spring looks familiar and I might just have one kicking around. I might go and look in an old abandoned house that has a wreck of a stove……you never know 😉

  3. December 16, 2009 10:05 am

    CSC is a common spring maker. TSC and other farm stores and lumber yards are likely to have a spring display.

    Find a spring similar in shape, size, and function, that is at least long enough. Cut it off – this might take a vice and hack saw or angle grinder and cutting wheel, so you might want to ask someone with a shop. Make the cut one loop too long, then, carefully – no one needs to get hurt – bend that end loop, where you made the cut, out flat, to match the loops on the original spring.

    The wire of the spring – spring steel – looks to be stout enough that bending the loop may take strength and a wise choice of tools. And a bit of persistence.

    Since this is part of an oven door, you might consider some high-temp black paint, such as is sold for touching up barbecue grills.

    This does *not* look to be a specialty or difficult extension spring (as opposed to a compression, or “resists squeezing”) spring to match.

  4. December 16, 2009 10:07 am

    Oh – don’t try to “clip” the spring with anything lighter than a full-blown bolt cutter – you will just damage your snippers, diagonal cutters, end nippers, etc.

  5. December 16, 2009 10:14 am

    I love my cookstove! The one we have, the temp gage on the door doesn’t work. But other than that, it works great.

  6. December 16, 2009 11:05 am

    We just went through a ‘set-back” also. Hope yours get worked out soon. Have your tried Lehmen’s? They sell lots of stuff so may have something just right for your stove.

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.om

  7. December 16, 2009 6:08 pm

    Hi! You can try sending your photo and a message describing the stove to http://www.lehmans.com. They are an Amish outfit and offer a lot of “fix it” items not shown in their catalog. I’d be surprised if they couldn’t get you a replacement spring.

  8. December 16, 2009 10:36 pm

    Wow, thanks everyone for all the tips – if Walter doesn’t come through, I will certainly put Hangdog on the trail. I lucked out since Walter’s stove part store is just across town. I would like an original stove spring if I can find one – but who knows. Lots of great ideas listed above! Thanks again 🙂

  9. December 18, 2009 1:18 am

    My winter (wood) stove is so old (1896) it doesn’t even have a spring to break! But I do love it. It’s the heart of the house.

    • December 18, 2009 6:34 am

      EJ, that stove sounds wonderful and very cosy. It may have a spring, you just can’t see it, they don’t show, but are easy to get to if they break.

  10. December 18, 2009 8:48 pm

    I hope you find your spring. I love antiques but finding parts can be a bear. My husband’s ranked a mastersmith with forging metal and he told me just how to make your spring and the explanation ended with easy. That much I know for sure. Unfortunately, my brain was otherwise occupied when he was speaking to me. Don’t tell him that last part. I should have been listening more carefully and I don’t want to admit it. If it comes to making your own contact me and I’ll be glad to give you our number so you can visit with him. I just blogged about some of his work so take a peak if your curious. I assume you get the leave reply info on the comment side.

    • December 19, 2009 6:46 am

      Holly, LOL my hubby does blacksmith work too, although not the caliber of your husband – he wanted to make a spring to fix the stove, but he has to contend with me wanting original parts when possible. I’m adding that to “what couples” fight about list. I’ll be sure to show him your post when he comes in – he loves Damascus knives.

      I have that selective memory thing sometimes too, eyes glaze over, ears turn off… I try not to admit it either. 😉

Leave a comment