Skip to content

Rhubarb blondies

March 24, 2010

The rhubarb has emerged enough I can sneak a few stalks here and there for a quick rhubarb sauce for breakfast, or a good dessert.  Actually I haven’t met too many desserts I don’t like…



This recipe is adapted from my 1967 Grange Dessert Cookbook.  It was my mom’s, and I think I have actually used more recipes from these Grange books than she did.  The official recipe is called Oregon Apple cake, but I use whatever fruit I have on hand.  The cake batter behaves more like cookie dough than cake batter, so don’t be surprised if it seems a little stiff to you.  It will bake into a decadent, chewy dessert, more brownie-like than cake.  The tangy, rhubarb gives you a surprise with each sweet bite.  If you’re really shameful, eat it with ice cream or ginger whip cream.  I’ll have to suffer, since my cow is dry, and just eat it with gusto plain.

Oregon Apple Cake aka Rhubarb Blondies

½ c. butter
2 c.  sugar
2 eggs
2 t. vanilla

2 c. flour
2 t. soda
½ t. salt
1 t. cinnamon
2 c. sliced fresh rhubarb
1 c. nuts

Cream butter and sugar, add eggs and vanilla.  Beat.  Add sifted flour, soda, salt, cinnamon, mix.  Stir in fruit and nuts.
Bake in 9 x 13 pan at 350°F for 45 minutes.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. March 24, 2010 4:11 pm

    That rhubarb blondie looks delicious! I’ll have to give it a try with apples, though. No rhubarb in my garden… yet. I love a simple recipe! Thanks for sharing. : ) Melissa

  2. March 24, 2010 4:25 pm

    I’m going to have to try this this weekend. I start milking Tulip tomorrow, and am planning homemade ice cream this weekend. We don’t buy ice cream and have to suffer when the goats are dry! During milking season we make 5 qts of ice cream about every 2 weeks. Store bought (no matter the quality) just can’t compare!! 🙂

  3. March 24, 2010 4:26 pm

    Oh YUM! I don’t have any rhubarb, but I’ve some defrosted tart cherries in the fridge – and am going over to my nieces’ Friday morning to teach her to make yogurt. Sounds like a perfect excuse to bake this and take it along!

  4. March 24, 2010 4:33 pm

    Yum!

    You’re so far ahead of us. Our rhubarb is just now starting to peek out of the ground. Of course it’s rhubarb that I transplanted last year from our old place, so I’m glad it’s coming up at all!

  5. Marcia/WY permalink
    March 24, 2010 5:02 pm

    Wonderful recipe – I’ll have to try it in A COUPLE OF MONTHS….my rhubarb is still at the little tiny nubbins poking out stage.

  6. March 24, 2010 5:11 pm

    It makes me wish it weren’t too late to start baking some tonight!

  7. March 24, 2010 5:17 pm

    LOL I’d love to live in your tropical climate………my poor rhubarb is too scared to show its tips just yet 😉 I’ll be over for coffee!

  8. March 24, 2010 8:37 pm

    You know- I just haven’t been able to face rhubarb yet. When I was a kid, my grandmother used to make strawberry-rhubarb pie, and I just thought it was a waste of perfectly good strawberries.

    But that picture looked pretty good…..maybe someday….someone will have to make me try rhubarb again.

  9. March 24, 2010 10:17 pm

    Oh sigh, I miss rhubarb! But with a raw-food dog and an autistic child I don’t think I dare grow it open for fear of one of them getting ahold of the leaves! When I can devise a Cunning Plan to grow it safely, however, I’ll be doing it.

  10. March 25, 2010 5:09 am

    That sounds delicious! I have wild rhubarb growing, but I never get around to using it.

  11. Susan permalink
    March 25, 2010 6:35 am

    Lordalmighty – does that look good! I will be making it as soon as my rhubarb catches up with yours.

    Susan

  12. michelle permalink
    March 25, 2010 7:50 am

    i can’t wait to make this for my dad- he LOVES rhubarb. Thanks for the simple recipe. Love it!

  13. Carol permalink
    March 25, 2010 9:09 am

    My husband will eat anything with Rhubarb in it. Thanks for sharing the recipe. I still have chopped rhubarb in the freezer from last year. I chopped and chopped whatever I could get my hands on last summer! Found some wild, my neighbor was too busy to bother with hers so she let me cut hers too!

  14. March 28, 2010 5:45 am

    Looks delicious!

  15. March 29, 2010 2:02 pm

    I made this last night and it went down a treat. We don’t eat nuts so I replaced with 1 cup of rolled oats. Yummo! Thanks for another great recipe

  16. March 29, 2010 4:19 pm

    I planted a rhubarb root for the first time this year. I’m hoping to get something. I didn’t have enough ground available so I am trying it in a large half barrel. I sure hope it works.

  17. April 7, 2010 5:38 pm

    Our rhubarb is starting to come up. I may be able to harvest some in the next week or two. Thanks for the recipe!

  18. Jill permalink
    June 30, 2010 9:06 am

    My mom is in the hospital having kneed replacement surgery and will still be there on her birthday. I’ve been looking for something that transports easily and doesn’t require a fork to eat so she can have some sort of celebration. She loves rhubarb and these look perfect!

  19. Debbra permalink
    May 2, 2018 8:08 am

    I made this the other day, and it was to die for! The best use of rhubarb. The brownie stayed incredibly moist for days. We substituted oats for the nuts, but did added 1/4c of pecans.

Leave a comment