Skip to content

This past week in pictures

October 5, 2010
tags:

Russell Crow and his ladies.

Sauteed chanterelles.

My view from the kitchen sink.

Thelma and Louise.

Not sure, but we think it was a black bear Now he is known as the Blue Avenger 🙂

Pullet eggs.  “Careful Rancher, that’s Ben Wade’s egg you’re taking there.”

In the vegetable garden.

Fall.

26 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2010 1:25 am

    Please tell us more about your pigs. Do you have more photos of your pig housing? Thanks!

    • October 5, 2010 4:43 am

      Michelle, in this photo they are in the feeding shed where we deep bed the cows during the winter. We haven’t taken too many pictures of them but their should be some on past pigs. We skipped last year and did not have any pigs, and this year the PLAN was to get them at the same time as I had an abundant skim milk supply…that didn’t work out. I’ll look through my archives and see what I can find. It’s pretty simple, hog panels, gravity nipple waterer attached to a 55 gallon drum and a self feeder. A 2 strand electric fence works good too if you want them to do some weeding too, and provided you have trained them a little to the fence beforehand. Pigs are the most legal and easiest way I know of to sell raw milk 😉

  2. Rita permalink
    October 5, 2010 1:26 am

    Was in PDX last week and drove to Vista House for the view. I kept thinking I’m near the farm, I’ve got to be somewhat near the farm, but alas you remain anonymous.

    • October 5, 2010 4:45 am

      Rita, too funny I almost included a photo of the river at freeway level, since the river has been so incredibly beautiful and so very low with amazing sandbars. I hope the day was a clear one – and yes you were pretty close… 😉

      • Rita permalink
        October 6, 2010 3:02 am

        The view was misty, beautiful. Maybe someday I’ll catch you crossing the street to the other side. We’re prepping for the snow in the UP.

  3. October 5, 2010 4:16 am

    Good Morning! What beautiful photo’s but I feel so bad for ‘ The Blue Avenger’. Poor fellow came close to loosing an eye it looks like….I bet it was a bear. When I lived in BC we had bears around every evening in the fall because the people who lived there before us used to feed them with fruit…even bought boxes of fruit just to feed the bears! Anyway I hope your blue fellow heals quickly. Enjoy your day and your beautiful animals.
    Maura 🙂

    • October 5, 2010 4:50 am

      Maura, I agree, we normally don’t have a problem with bears even though they are here. But our neighborhood has been the recipient of one of those problem bears the Fish & Game relocates. You know in a “wild” area. Well, everyone within 5 miles of here wants them to come get him again and do something about him.

      Melvin is healing good, almost haired over, but they have just been absolutely wild at night so he hasn’t moved on yet.

  4. Marcia in Wyoming permalink
    October 5, 2010 4:35 am

    Great photos – your pigs are looking good…how much longer before they’re bacon? AND poor Mel (it is Mel?) how scary…he’s a toughie to have survived!

    • October 5, 2010 4:56 am

      Marcia, the pigs are going this week. Yeah! And Mel is healing good, Trace only has a tiny swipe on his nose and it all makes sense because Mel is a header and Trace is a heeler, so I am sure Melvin rushed in and got a slap before retreating.

  5. October 5, 2010 7:02 am

    I really like the the leaf shot:)
    A couple of tough dogs you have there! Hope your problem bear is sorted out one way or another.

    • October 5, 2010 7:23 am

      Karen, it’s been a tough year for bears with our cool spring anyway, which resulted in little fruit set, now this guy is misplaced and out of sorts, and most likely been fed at another location, none of this bodes well for the bear.

  6. October 5, 2010 7:12 am

    A BEAR!!!!! Oh, my goodness! We just went through a Linx attack on one of our cats, but a bear!!!! How is he doing? I’m so glad the eye wasn’t hurt!

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com

    • October 5, 2010 7:24 am

      Linda, hope your cat is OK, bobcats have eaten a lot of our cats over the years 😦 And the ones they don’t eat, come home looking pretty bad.

  7. October 5, 2010 7:29 am

    Oh gosh a bear! We don’t have bears here usually in NE Ohio, however, just this past week the papers are reporting a black bear spotted a few towns over from us :/

    Love the pics, your leaf picture is wonderful!

    • October 5, 2010 11:21 am

      Allison, the bears usually keep to themselves, in all my life outdoors, I have only seen an actual bear about 10 times, but always see lots of sign. The problems usually start when they start getting into garbage, livestock feed, or worse people feed them. That is what is going on here – which is a nuther ball of wax.

  8. October 5, 2010 8:01 am

    Oh the scary part of living in the country. Poor dogs, but then I know they are just doing what they do best.
    Our worst fear here is racoons. I don’t let my dogs out at night because of them. They don’t get bear sized, but still they are big and aggressive.
    Hope the dogs heal just fine!
    Otherwise, beautiful pictures!

    • October 5, 2010 11:24 am

      Claudia W, the coons come and go here, and we’re on the off cycle, they are scrappers for sure, I had one Australian – Jed – would tackle them outright and get the upper hand and kill them. Talk about a hissy fit, once you hear a coon fighting for it’s life, it’s something you’ll never forget.

      So far, he is healing real well, hopefully enough to pose for a new picture today!

  9. October 5, 2010 9:01 am

    Well, farming over by the Cascades looks to be just as exciting and varied as farming at The Coast! What a beautiful farm you have, and such happy, healthy animals. Thanks for contacting me, I am really enjoying ‘touring’ your place and reading more of your story.

    I would love to ask you some technical questions about your blog, as I’m trying to migrate our new farm blog to a new location, possibly from Blogger to WordPress… is it possible to email you with a few questions that can absolutely wait until all the farm chores are as done as can be before they need to be answered? You can find me at: info@46northfarm.com.

    I wish you a good autumn season, and hope that your lovely dog is recovering from the bear encounter- that looked painful!

  10. October 5, 2010 9:24 am

    1) love the name of your rooster!
    2) I recognized the chanterelles right off the bat. Sure wish I could find some around here! In Germany they call them Pfifferlingen.
    3) Not a bad view, that. All I can see from my kitchen sink is the neighbor’s backyard. Good thing they keep it in flowers.
    4) love the name of your pigs, too. They look like someone went at them with a big, black El Marko.
    5) after the first four pictures, that one’s a shocker! especially if you love dogs the way I do. I’m sure glad he came home with that tear, rather than you guys having to go out looking for him and finding what was left. maybe thinking about this picture every time I feel sorry for myself not living out in the country will make it all better…
    6) I don’t get it- who’s Bed Wade? Or is that something I’d get if I lived out in the country?
    7) I don’t know how you get such gorgeous pictures. That one looks like it was professionally lit and snapped. do red nasturtiums taste better than yellow ones?
    8) Another great picture. Actually, all the pictures were great. Thanks for sharing!

    • October 5, 2010 11:41 am

      Paula,
      1) LOL we already had used Gregory Peck, & Kellogg, just couldn’t resist Russell Crow.
      2) Look on Craigslist or at People’s Farmers Market on Wednesdays or be prepared to do some trekking.
      3) I miss seeing Della out there – but Jane is proving to be a good substitute.
      4) Well, we shouldn’t have named the pigs that, since soon after they went on a joyride!
      5) Well, the problem is that he was “home.” The dogs only have free access to about an acre and one half, which means they were just protecting the orchard etc. EEK!
      6) Ben Wade – 3:10 to Yuma, played by Russell Crowe. I never really cared for Russell Crowe until I saw this movie, and then he gets even better in Robin Hood.
      7) I get gorgeous pictures from my kid – she is the on staff here at least for a while 😉 They all taste the same to me, although the one I the other night had an earwig in it, kinda crunchy.
      8) She took the leaf one too – when we were doing the pig lash-up this weekend – I am glad she brought the camera to the barn. Good eye that one.

  11. October 5, 2010 10:21 am

    oh no….poor pup! i LOVE russel crow!

    • October 5, 2010 11:25 am

      Jaz, Russell is a good boy, so far – he is young yet, but still nice, hopefully he will figure out not to be mean, or he will be calling the crock pot his home!

      Pup is on the mend!

  12. October 5, 2010 2:40 pm

    Great pic’s. Old Russell is HOT!

  13. October 5, 2010 4:58 pm

    Whoa, that is one nasty gash! I would freak out if one of my “babies” came home with that on their face! Thank goodness they are ok. I’d be afraid to let them out of the house if there was a chance they could meet up with that bear again!

    • October 5, 2010 7:55 pm

      Deb, yes, we were quite surprised to see that, and he was so stoic about it, I couldn’t believe it since he is so touchy about cockleburrs and stickers in his fur. Go figure.

      Your pups are gorgeous!!

Leave a comment