Skip to content

Some Grazing

June 3, 2011

Turn the video up when you watch, you’ll hear the sound of a cow talking to her calf,  “mmmmmm, mmmmmmm,”  and the sound of grazing.  Comforting.


As you can see Trace is hard at it…building fence is hard work.  Actually he is on strict pickup detail, when the cows have new calves, the dogs get their clock’s cleaned on a regular basis.  So it’s just easier to let him straw boss from pickup seat.


The visual world is new to them.  They say terroir is imprinted on them in the womb, the plants their mothers grazed will seem familiar,  giving them a head start when they hit the ground.  Fascinating.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. June 3, 2011 7:00 am

    what a wonderful post and video! i just loved seeing this!

  2. June 3, 2011 7:10 am

    There’s something about animals grazing….that sound of the ripping grass, the chewing…horses, sheep, cows, whatever.
    A nice tree to sit under and lean against, and I could spend hours just watching and listening.
    Nice looking calves!

  3. Chris permalink
    June 3, 2011 8:06 am

    Beautiful babies and their mums! Do the dogs get in trouble because they like to chase the calves or something like that? 🙂 I’m surprised they arn’t afraid of the mums going after them. Great photos and video….Thanks!

  4. June 3, 2011 8:38 am

    What a healthy looking herd! That is a very soothing sound – I’d like to put that on a loop and play it while going to sleep. I’d be out like a light.

  5. June 3, 2011 9:57 am

    What a great looking bunch – very healthy! I know what kind of dedication and work it takes to get there. How many cow/calf pairs do you have?

  6. June 3, 2011 10:41 am

    I love how that little calf just keeps staring at the camera. Very inquisitive.

  7. June 3, 2011 10:53 am

    Oh gosh- those long eyelashes sure don’t look like steak to me….

  8. June 3, 2011 11:57 am

    So cute! I love listening to my horses munch!

  9. June 3, 2011 5:05 pm

    Love, love, love it! I have goats, no cows. But, I love to sit outside and watch them as they browse, and listen as they munch hay, leaves and small twigs. So relaxing!

  10. Sheila Z permalink
    June 3, 2011 6:52 pm

    Does the cow in the video have twins?

    I miss cows. Beef cows looks so odd to me compared to dairy. Behavior (at least the Holsteins we had were as calm as your herd) is the same, but the body shape is so different. I love how the dogs have decided the better part of valor is to stay out of the momma’s way. Smart dogs.

    I love the looks of your pasture! Cow heaven.

  11. June 3, 2011 7:03 pm

    Wonderful video. Trace takes his work seriously I see.

  12. Mads Stub Jorgensen permalink
    June 4, 2011 1:30 am

    Envy… here in iceland we hardly have any grass growing, it’s still cold and a while before we can put our cows out on pasture.

  13. Jenny permalink
    June 4, 2011 4:46 am

    You must have moments of pure content and bliss.

  14. Jenny permalink
    June 4, 2011 4:47 am

    In between hours and hours of back breaking work, that is.

  15. Karen permalink
    June 4, 2011 5:00 am

    My dog LOVES sleeping in the pickup like that, too! Always finds something to use as his pillow! 🙂 Ah yes, the comforting, relaxing sound of animals grazing…….I let my horses mow my lawn for me, and I love to just kick back and watch and listen to them – good way to de-stress. Interesting how the terroir is imprinted on calves in the womb! Wonder if this is true of all grazing animals? I always feel bad when I see any grazer who isn’t allowed access to grass, as I feel it’s SO necessary for their psychological and physiological well-being! I’ve read that in horses, there is actually a physiological mechanism that releases calming endorphins when the horse’s head and neck is down, in the grazing position. So it calms THEM as well as us! 🙂

  16. June 4, 2011 10:09 am

    Why is there a pink cow? It looks cool!

Leave a comment