Skip to content

Jane is Five

May 27, 2015
jane

5 minutes old

It seems like just yesterday when Jane was just a babe getting dried off with a pink towel.

almost one year old

almost one year old

two years old

two years old

three

three years old

four years old

four years old

five years old

five years old

clover
Juliette de Bairacli Levy writes that it is bad luck to pick a five leaf clover, so a photo will have to do.  We are certainly lucky to have Jane.  Three calves, another one in the oven, countless gallons of milk, pounds of butter, tons of manure for the garden, and never a dull moment.  Thanks Jane – Happy Birthday!

45 Comments leave one →
  1. cookier permalink
    May 27, 2015 5:27 am

    Happy Birthday Jane! I’ve so enjoyed watching you grow and reading about your generosity.

  2. Rita permalink
    May 27, 2015 5:33 am

    Happy birthday to Jane!
    However, I can still cry over a cow I never knew.

  3. Barb in CA permalink
    May 27, 2015 5:55 am

    Happy Birthday Miss Jane Butterfield! From waiting, waiting, waiting for your birth, right up to your latest sweet calf, I have SO enjoyed following your story. You are such a giving girl, and I have learned a lot from you! Here’s to many more happy, healthy years!

  4. Carrie permalink
    May 27, 2015 6:03 am

    Happy Birthday Jane!

    (Actually, she thinks she’s pretty lucky to have you… But you’re not to know this. So shush everyone!)

  5. Lucy permalink
    May 27, 2015 6:03 am

    Happy birthday Jane! I love the age progression photos.

    When I found a 5 leaf clover I left it in place, but no one believed there was such a thing (and of course I couldn’t find it again!).

  6. Fid permalink
    May 27, 2015 6:07 am

    Happy Birthday, Jane! Enjoy your parsnip cake! May your day be full of scratches and love.

  7. May 27, 2015 6:07 am

    happy birthday jane! you are aging so well. i wish i was.

  8. May 27, 2015 6:08 am

    Aww she’s lovely. It’s our baby’s birthday too today. Our little alpaca Agnese, was born a year ago today – the first alpaca birth on our farm.

  9. Chris permalink
    May 27, 2015 6:27 am

    I have never heard of a 5 leaf clover but then again, I have never heard of such a beautiful, amazing, sweet cow such as Miss Jane and her even more amazing story and family.
    Happy Birthday sweet baby Jane! 🙂

  10. May 27, 2015 6:56 am

    Aww… how sweet. Wishing the Birthday girl a happy one!

  11. May 27, 2015 7:39 am

    More beautiful each passing year!

  12. Allisa permalink
    May 27, 2015 7:42 am

    Happy Birthday Jane!

  13. Bee permalink
    May 27, 2015 7:57 am

    Many felicitations, Jane (and yes, it makes me think of Della, too). There’s nothing like having a good milk cow around the place.

  14. Stumplifter (Andrea) permalink
    May 27, 2015 8:55 am

    It must be even easier to love a sweet girl like that in person! I gotta be honest, it’s pretty darn easy through photos!
    I remember how much you love Della, and can only imagine it must provide solace having her sweet Jane around.
    Happy happy 5th revolution, Jane.

  15. Ali permalink
    May 27, 2015 9:39 am

    Happy Birthday Jane! What kind of cow is she? I have dreams of having a pasture ready for a cow by next summer. For now my cute little goat will have to do:)

  16. May 27, 2015 11:59 am

    Happy Birthday Jane. Thank you for all the joy you bring me when I see your beautiful pictures.

  17. Margo permalink
    May 27, 2015 1:53 pm

    Love reading about Jane, and all the other farm happenings

  18. May 27, 2015 2:15 pm

    Wow, 5 years already! Happy Birthday Jane! (But that means I have been reading your blog for way more than 5 years.)

  19. May 27, 2015 3:29 pm

    Happy Birthday Jane! I think I must have been following you for about 5 years then, and we’ve had our own two milk cows about that long 🙂 I’ve learnt so much from your stories about Jane, thank you for sharing them.

  20. Laura permalink
    May 27, 2015 5:42 pm

    Happy Birthday Jane!

  21. May 27, 2015 6:20 pm

    Happy birthday to Jane, but I think Della aged better, mammary wise at least. Still miss your posts about Jane’s pretty momma 😥

    • May 27, 2015 7:45 pm

      Oh yeah, Della’s udder was in better shape at 12 than Jane at 4 😦 The fore attachment is awful.

      • May 28, 2015 5:42 am

        It happens, mammary is one of the hardest things to get right, so low on the heritability percentage, size is the easiest 😀

        • May 28, 2015 6:34 am

          It’s always something, my girlfriend’s family cow has bad feet and a great udder, Jane has great feet and that wonky bag 😦 No winning. And it’s not like Oregon is swimming in family cow material…I wish we were neighbors, I could snag a good heifer and hold that little cutie Peggy before she gets too big!

        • May 28, 2015 7:54 am

          The husband and I are thinking since we only have the 2 old girls left next year we will hit up one of the consignment auctions, and buy a well bred Holstein. The old ladies are 8 this year and well they just aren’t going to last forever. But we will see.

        • May 28, 2015 8:36 am

          Sounds like a plan, you have the eye for good cattle.
          ETA, someone asked the the other day why I was in such a hurry to raise a replacement…I pointed out Jane’s udder. Hopefully the bun in the oven is a heifer, with a better udder.

        • May 30, 2015 9:00 am

          Our goal is for a well ribbed long deep heifer, but since I dont want the cost of a bred one I think we will be looking at calves born at the consignments, as there are always a few. Generally around here you can get them for a couple hundred, and well mom is right there to take a look see at. Sadly my tastes are, well, expensive. Jade was going to pick me up a Ked Juror 3 day old calf a few years ago, he swore she wouldn’t go for much etc. 2500 later I was laughing, as I had known we were just not taking that baby home…..much as I wanted her 🙂

        • May 30, 2015 11:43 am

          Prices are insane at the sale barn, for grade calves, let alone for a show quality dairy heifer. Too bad she was so high 😦

  22. elaine permalink
    May 27, 2015 6:55 pm

    Happy Birthday, Jane!
    She’s beautiful 🙂

  23. Susan permalink
    May 28, 2015 1:03 am

    What a beautiful, glorious cow!

  24. May 28, 2015 2:03 am

    Wow!! It doesn’t seem like 5 years has flown by. I found your blog in 2010 and have been reading about Jane ever since. Happy Birthday, Jane!

  25. May 28, 2015 10:29 pm

    Udder attachment…the bane of milk cows. Have you any informationon the sires mothers udder? That is one way to tell if the potential heifer calf will have good attachment and udder shape. The problem in this day and age is the fact milk cows do not produce a long time in fact the average age of a modern dairy cow is 5. I used to milk my beef shorthorns. They milked very well and had tidy udders and more butterfat than a Jersey! I do love Jane though….she is a very beautiful cow!

    • May 29, 2015 5:02 am

      Fiona, no not exactly, of course, this is the AI that the tech didn’t write the bull’s # on the receipt, getting him here to AI is problematic let alone all the details for one cow. Lots of water under the bridge, Jane’s udder is what it is, I don’t feed for high production, so hopefully that will help some in that regard. It’s not the end of the world, and she’s a great cow.

  26. May 29, 2015 7:12 pm

    5! It’s almost time to think about learning to read! She’s glorious.

  27. May 30, 2015 11:17 pm

    Wow, that went fast. Happy birthday, beautiful. She’s such a gorgeous girl.

  28. May 31, 2015 6:32 pm

    Nita, I have been a subscriber since 2010 but when I commented on May 12 somehow Iost track of your blog. Could you please get back on your e-mail list? You’re one of the 1st one I look for. It’s a disappointment not finding you there when I open my computer. You became part of my family over the years. Thanks

  29. bgf permalink
    June 2, 2015 5:30 pm

    Love your blog and I learn so much from instagram, too! I’m wondering, if you are so inclined, if you can someday elaborate on haircoat whorls a bit more. Is there a book or other resource I can learn from? I search for various clues in the coats of my beef herd, but not sure what I’m looking for, really. Thank you Nita!

  30. June 11, 2015 2:07 pm

    I LOVE JANE !!! I only take photos of the clovers also 🙂

Leave a comment